Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
As written, I'd give it three stars. I've made this twice. The first time, I followed the recipe judiciously, and I found it a bit bland for my taste. The second time, I doubled the amount of bay leaves, red pepper flakes, and thyme. I cut the salt to 1/2 tspn. and added a tablespoon of Tony Chachere's Cajun seasoning. Also, I don't know where they sell diced tomatoes in 8oz. cans, so I, of course, substituted a 15-1/2 oz. can of fire roasted toms and was quite pleased with the outcome. I'll make it again using my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made this for my family using Swai fillets. When I did an ingredient search this was one that came up. I also had 3 beautiful tomatoes that needed to be eaten so this recipe fit the bill. I used a 12 oz. frozen veggie mixture of onion, celery, and bell pepper and steamed it then added to the soup. Because I have two small kids I didn't add the hot sauce, but I did add the red pepper flakes. This recipe was a bit out of my comfort zone but the whole family really enjoyed it. I added 1/3 cup rice when I added the fish and it was perfect. When I checked it 15 min. later the rice wasn't done and the gumbo was very thin. I mixed flour and water to thicken it up. That was what this recipe really needed. The flavors are great. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is excellent!!! I thought the spices and the amount of veggies are well balanced. Very pleased and will make this again. I did leave out the celery (only because I was out) and I cooked the veggies in a little bit of water instead of the oil to cut out the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Not the same without the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great way to use frozen okra. The tomato in this cuts any sliminess the okra might have when thawed. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Plunkett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this with 20 oz of shrimp instead of catfish. Very good, but need to reduce the salt a bit to 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was tha bomb!!! The only thing I did different was use half shrimp and half catfish because I had a taste for some shrimp that day. I also used 2 cups of beef broth instead of the bouillion and water combo. But man, this was good! It froze well too; I reheated a frozen bowl of soup about 3 weeks later and was amazed again at how tood this was. Tons of veggies, so you definitly get a serving or two of your daily requirement. Very flavorful and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna Nunley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sidepocket8ball
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this for the wife and I two nights in a row! I did chnage the fish each night however. First night I used shark steaks, and the second, swordfish. It was really good. One more deviance, was the hot sauce. Fred's Red Hot instead. AND I will add, do not use 2 hot sauces- learned that lesson the second night. Was a little TOO adventurous. GREAT and EASY. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sidepocket8ball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Delicious and healthy! My version: didn't use green pepper (didn't have it on hand), didn't use garlic (forgot), used 3 fresh good size tomatoes instead of canned diced tomatoes, added carrots, put in oregano and added some salt; didn't use hot pepper sauce. I reduced simmering time by a few minutes because my family was hungry! It came out great! The catfish nuggets that I bought a while back and left in the deep freezer came out well and didn't have the fishy taste at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I used the exact recpie and it turned out great. I will cook it again. This is hard to beat and east to make. JIm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States