Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We had this tonight and my man and I both loved it. I had about 3/4 pound freshly caught catfish that I filleted. I almost followed the recipe but added to it a bit. I added one medium zucchini to the vegetables and omitted the okra. I used fresh tomatoes instead of the canned. I added 1/2 Cup brown rice to the bouillon just before the 30 minute simmer. I also added 3/4 pound salad shrimp because I had it. It was delicious and gluten free as a bonus. We will definitely have it again the next time we go cat fishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Tastes very good! It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yum, is right! Catfish is perfect in this recipe because of it's texture. We've decided to fix this once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCouple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a terrific recipe! I have made it many times and it is always delicious.. I use around a pound of shrimp and a pound of whatever white flaky fish looks good. I recommend using fresh orca if you can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
a good simple tasty home food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
We had this with some wonderful rolls. Everyone loved it including our finicky 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe!! Like another reviewer I used beef stock which saved time. Also added chopped collard greens, salmon, shrimp, oysters, salmon and swai - couldn't find catfish but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I pan fried my catfish pieces in some oil and creole seasoning, then added them to the soup in the end. This fixed the "boiled fish" problem and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
As written, I'd give it three stars. I've made this twice. The first time, I followed the recipe judiciously, and I found it a bit bland for my taste. The second time, I doubled the amount of bay leaves, red pepper flakes, and thyme. I cut the salt to 1/2 tspn. and added a tablespoon of Tony Chachere's Cajun seasoning. Also, I don't know where they sell diced tomatoes in 8oz. cans, so I, of course, substituted a 15-1/2 oz. can of fire roasted toms and was quite pleased with the outcome. I'll make it again using my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made this for my family using Swai fillets. When I did an ingredient search this was one that came up. I also had 3 beautiful tomatoes that needed to be eaten so this recipe fit the bill. I used a 12 oz. frozen veggie mixture of onion, celery, and bell pepper and steamed it then added to the soup. Because I have two small kids I didn't add the hot sauce, but I did add the red pepper flakes. This recipe was a bit out of my comfort zone but the whole family really enjoyed it. I added 1/3 cup rice when I added the fish and it was perfect. When I checked it 15 min. later the rice wasn't done and the gumbo was very thin. I mixed flour and water to thicken it up. That was what this recipe really needed. The flavors are great. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States