Catfish Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
A quick and easy Catfish stew! For a fresher taste, I have adapted the recipe, but only slightly. I use catfish nuggets and Ro-Tel tomatoes. I use fresh celery, onion, garlic clove, a strip of lemon peel and fresh thyme, when available. I use hot pepper flakes, instead of hot pepper sauce, and no salt. Diners are able to add salt, or not, to their own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Easy and fast! Tasted wonderful, will be making again. I added red pepper flakes and used diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil. Added okra too. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Well, I guess I've never tasted the original recipe. But this sounded good, so I tried it. It was very fishy & nobody would eat it, including me. Sorry to say I wasted alot of money & alot of catfish, only to throw it down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This will become a regular in my home. It is extremely easy and a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This recipe was wonderful. Really easy and the catfish was tender and delicious. I have a rice cooker and so simmered the tomatoes etc until the rice was done then added the fish to the pan. The seasoning melded together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
Very simple, but tasty if you like foods with lots of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was extremely easy to make and very wonderful! I don't care for fish much but this was something the whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I used Basa instead of US catfish, minced garlic instead of powder, and omited the onions. Turned out fabulous. Excellent flavor!! This will be used again and again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This recipe is so easy and fast. I used tomatoes with jalapenos already in it and deleted the hot sauce. My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was just ok. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States