Catfish Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Had more fish, so nearly doubled the tomatoes. Used one can with jalapenos, too. Eyeballed the rest of the ingredients and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was pretty good for a really quick weekday meal, but definitely needed some "doctoring" as some of the other reviewers mentioned. I used sauteed onion, garlic, (and also celery) rather than using the minced dried stuff. I added some cayenne pepper and went heavy on the hot sauce, but found it still needed a few splashes more for serving. The fish stays really moist and tender...a definite "plus" for this recipe! Will make this again and play around with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Easy and fast! Tasted wonderful, will be making again. I added red pepper flakes and used diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil. Added okra too. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was just ok. It was good, but nothing that wowed us. I would also give a 3.5 as its not terrible, but not a 4 for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I used Basa instead of US catfish, minced garlic instead of powder, and omited the onions. Turned out fabulous. Excellent flavor!! This will be used again and again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Really, more of a 3.5 star. This was pretty good, though hubby liked it better then I. Used catfish nuggets and added some frozen mixed veggies to the stew and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was just ok. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great easy and quick recipe that tastes like you put a lot of work into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
A quick and easy Catfish stew! For a fresher taste, I have adapted the recipe, but only slightly. I use catfish nuggets and Ro-Tel tomatoes. I use fresh celery, onion, garlic clove, a strip of lemon peel and fresh thyme, when available. I use hot pepper flakes, instead of hot pepper sauce, and no salt. Diners are able to add salt, or not, to their own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This recipe is so easy and fast. I used tomatoes with jalapenos already in it and deleted the hot sauce. My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States