Catfish Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was tasty, although it really needed salt, and due to the varying tastes of family members, I did not put the hot sauce in while it was cooking, but on the table to be used as desired. It is another handy way to cook catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Changed this a bit, very good outcome. First off, if you don't 'love' fishiness in your whole recipe, fry your fish separately. I rubbed my fish with oil then garlic powder, salt and old bay seasoning and fried a few minutes per side on my cast iron griddle. For the tomato part I chopped up 2 cups fresh tomatoes, frying them lightly in a saucepan, added the seasonings mentioned ( a little more generous on the garlic and oregano doesn't hurt). I couldn't taste a bite with the amount of hot sauce either, so tweak that at the end if needed. I let the tomatoes simmer on low with a cover for 10 min then mashed them in the pan with a potato masher, and added some chopped olives. I served the fish over rice, with the sauce over the top. This tasted very Mediterranean to me, have no idea if it's authentic creole or not. But I really enjoyed this, and that's coming from someone who can't eat fish very well unless its deep fried. A simple, fast, tasty keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Fast, easy, healthy, and delicious! What more could one want? It had a richer flavor that the ingredients would indicate and the catfish tasted somewhat like chunks of shrimp or crab. I used a can of diced no-salt tomatoes and a low sodium liquid bouillon so added a bit more of the seasonings than called for. It was delicious and we will be having this regularly. Thanks for sharing this Dakota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made this just as the recipe states and my husband and I really enjoyed it! It was very quick and easy - not bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carminekoh
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
An incredibly simple & lovely fish stew. I did a little twist by substituting oregano with thyme leaves as I just ran out of it. And it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carminekoh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I tried this recipe out and my bf who isnt a big fan of catfish liked it a lot. I liked it as well. The only reason why I didnt give it a five star was because it was still a little to fishy. It has a very strong taste, good but strong. I might try this recipe out again but with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elsysgv
Home Town: Asherton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I've made this several times now, and it always turns out great. I make it just as the recipe says except that I use tilapia instead of catfish. The flavors blend wonderfully, and it goes great over rice. Even my 3-year-old will eat it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fantastic! I'm made this for my family in Louisiana and they raved about it! Easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Simple, healthy, and quite delicious. And a thousand open ways to customize. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was an awesome low calorie delicious recipe that my family loves. I used tilapia when I did not have catfish and added shrimp and it doubled the deliciousness of it. I come to this site regularly to get new recipes and this has been the best so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States