Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I loved the recipe! When I boiled my fish down I added some fresh sliced lemon for flavor. I also added fresh minced celery, red and green pepper, red onion and garlic. I also added a teaspoon of pickled diced jalapeños for a little zing. It tasted awesome. I added a few spices (paprika, lemon pepper, and parsley) for taste but the recipe is awesome. Ritz crackers (two rows) did the trick though I may use a little less next time as not to overpower the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This recipe was so delicious and easy to make. It was a hit at a dinner party. The only thing I would say is that I had a very difficult times forming the patties. I tried everything,even used flour per other suggestion, but I couldn't pick them up, so they looked a little funny. I will make these again, but hope I can figure out a way to pick them up to fried them. Following a few suggestions, I cooked and baked the fish like I was going to eat them as is, with all my regular seasonings. The flavor and the smell to die for. The only reason why its 4 stars is because of the difficulties I had to pick them up. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe! I baked the fish as many have suggested and used toasted breadcrumbs and higher portion of Old Bay seasoning. I paired this with a creole rice and salad. Turned out great with no leftovers! This made my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Laman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very easy and good. Flexible and you don't have to use the exact ingredients. Use what you have and adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinamayor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: China, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Sutherland
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
We loved these! I added minced garlic and used a Creole seasoning rather than Old Bay. I also dredged the cakes through a mixture of flour, paprika, salt, and pepper before frying for a crispy golden crunch. Definetly a recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Sutherland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I've made this with all kinds of fish - tilapia, cod - it's all good. This recipe is a huge hit. I serve the cakes with a sauce made from equal parts mayo and sour cream (or plain yogurt) seasoned with lemon juice, salt and dill, and watered down with a little bit of milk to desired consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I just made these today. The only thing I did different was I baked them in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes flipping them over half way through. Was very pleased-hubby loved them! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Use walleye instead of catfish and bread crumbs because I didn't have crackers...next time im going to use catfish And cheezit crackers.... pulled the wrong bag of yesterday's catch out of the freezer and didn't feel like dethawing the catfish so I used walleye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Have been making these for about 5 years now. Pls bake the fish first then mash w/ a fork. They need a good dose of old bay and a little more hellmann's and mustard. Before serving brush on some buffalo wing sauce, you won't be sorry. Catfish nuggets work great and are about 1/3 the cost of fillets. I bake mine 450 degrees for 13 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States