Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I just made these today. The only thing I did different was I baked them in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes flipping them over half way through. Was very pleased-hubby loved them! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Use walleye instead of catfish and bread crumbs because I didn't have crackers...next time im going to use catfish And cheezit crackers.... pulled the wrong bag of yesterday's catch out of the freezer and didn't feel like dethawing the catfish so I used walleye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Have been making these for about 5 years now. Pls bake the fish first then mash w/ a fork. They need a good dose of old bay and a little more hellmann's and mustard. Before serving brush on some buffalo wing sauce, you won't be sorry. Catfish nuggets work great and are about 1/3 the cost of fillets. I bake mine 450 degrees for 13 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Pretty good but very crackery. As others mentioned, broke this up into bigger chunks and also dredged in flour before frying for crispier edges. Made this with homemade tartar sauce (from this site). Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Ok, let me just say that I never do reviews, but after slapping myself in the face for not making this recipe sooner, and devouring these Catfish Cakes, I had to do one. This recipe is the best! My aunt thought she was doing us a favor by purchasing near 20 lbs of catfish for us to bring home from Memphis, and I needed a recipe. I used lowfat Ritz crackers and I also baked the fish first with garlic and onion powder and oldbay seasoning. I used spicy mustard and added some crushed red pepper to the mix. I fried half with flour and half without, but could not tell the difference once they were cooked. I will bake them next time. My husband loved them as well. The only thing I forgot was to make a sauce, but otherwise, they were percfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Ok so I decided to try these while my wife and I were on the Whole 30 diet. That said there were several items that we were not able to eat in the ingredients list. Here's the list of what I substituted (everything else being the same: 1/2 an organic onion 1/2 of a red pepper 1 tsp of fresh homemade whole ground mustard 1 Tbsp of homemade olive oil mayo 1-2 Tbsp of old bay (my wife is from Baltimore, if you were too you'd understand!) 1 Cup of fresh homemade almond flour. 1 Cup of olive/coconut oil blend (most vegetable oil is soybean, which isn't allowed on Whole 30 2 Eggs So I sauteed the onion and pepper with a little bit of olive oil before I added it to the fish, adding fresh ground Himalayan sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, then added it alongside all of the other ingredients. I used the pepper to make it a "bit" more healthy, and 2 eggs because I didn't want to over-do it with the almond flour and I needed more binding action. These cooked up wonderfully. My wife, who I already mentioned is from Baltimore, said they were the best seafood cakes she had ever eaten! Only gave it 4 stars because I had to modify it so heavily I don't know what they would taste like "normally". Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Good but not Maryland Crab Cakes. I am from Maryland and although these catfish cakes are good, they are nothing like real Maryland crab cakes. I followed the recipe. Next time, I will use a very small onion, flake the fish, increase the Old Bay to 2 tablespoons, increase the mustard to 1 tablespoon and add 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley which is a must in crab cakes. These would be great as a party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Tasty and easy! Used left over Halibut. Mashed it up, added the rest of the ingredients, added own spices (didn't have Old Bay Seasoning), used Premium Plus crackers and used just enough olive oil to grease the pan (3-4 tablespoons). The whole family enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was a really easy to follow recipe and tasted amazing! I served these up with some hollandaise sauce. My husband who dislikes both crab and catfish scarfed them down. Fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States