Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I loved the recipe! When I boiled my fish down I added some fresh sliced lemon for flavor. I also added fresh minced celery, red and green pepper, red onion and garlic. I also added a teaspoon of pickled diced jalapeños for a little zing. It tasted awesome. I added a few spices (paprika, lemon pepper, and parsley) for taste but the recipe is awesome. Ritz crackers (two rows) did the trick though I may use a little less next time as not to overpower the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This recipe was so delicious and easy to make. It was a hit at a dinner party. The only thing I would say is that I had a very difficult times forming the patties. I tried everything,even used flour per other suggestion, but I couldn't pick them up, so they looked a little funny. I will make these again, but hope I can figure out a way to pick them up to fried them. Following a few suggestions, I cooked and baked the fish like I was going to eat them as is, with all my regular seasonings. The flavor and the smell to die for. The only reason why its 4 stars is because of the difficulties I had to pick them up. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe! I baked the fish as many have suggested and used toasted breadcrumbs and higher portion of Old Bay seasoning. I paired this with a creole rice and salad. Turned out great with no leftovers! This made my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Laman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very easy and good. Flexible and you don't have to use the exact ingredients. Use what you have and adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Leeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: China, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Sutherland
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
We loved these! I added minced garlic and used a Creole seasoning rather than Old Bay. I also dredged the cakes through a mixture of flour, paprika, salt, and pepper before frying for a crispy golden crunch. Definetly a recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Sutherland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I've made this with all kinds of fish - tilapia, cod - it's all good. This recipe is a huge hit. I serve the cakes with a sauce made from equal parts mayo and sour cream (or plain yogurt) seasoned with lemon juice, salt and dill, and watered down with a little bit of milk to desired consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I just made these today. The only thing I did different was I baked them in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes flipping them over half way through. Was very pleased-hubby loved them! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Use walleye instead of catfish and bread crumbs because I didn't have crackers...next time im going to use catfish And cheezit crackers.... pulled the wrong bag of yesterday's catch out of the freezer and didn't feel like dethawing the catfish so I used walleye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Have been making these for about 5 years now. Pls bake the fish first then mash w/ a fork. They need a good dose of old bay and a little more hellmann's and mustard. Before serving brush on some buffalo wing sauce, you won't be sorry. Catfish nuggets work great and are about 1/3 the cost of fillets. I bake mine 450 degrees for 13 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States