Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe! I baked the fish as many have suggested and used toasted breadcrumbs and higher portion of Old Bay seasoning. I paired this with a creole rice and salad. Turned out great with no leftovers! This made my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Laman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very easy and good. Flexible and you don't have to use the exact ingredients. Use what you have and adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chinamayor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Living In: China, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina Sutherland
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
We loved these! I added minced garlic and used a Creole seasoning rather than Old Bay. I also dredged the cakes through a mixture of flour, paprika, salt, and pepper before frying for a crispy golden crunch. Definetly a recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Sutherland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I've made this with all kinds of fish - tilapia, cod - it's all good. This recipe is a huge hit. I serve the cakes with a sauce made from equal parts mayo and sour cream (or plain yogurt) seasoned with lemon juice, salt and dill, and watered down with a little bit of milk to desired consistency. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I just made these today. The only thing I did different was I baked them in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes flipping them over half way through. Was very pleased-hubby loved them! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Use walleye instead of catfish and bread crumbs because I didn't have crackers...next time im going to use catfish And cheezit crackers.... pulled the wrong bag of yesterday's catch out of the freezer and didn't feel like dethawing the catfish so I used walleye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Have been making these for about 5 years now. Pls bake the fish first then mash w/ a fork. They need a good dose of old bay and a little more hellmann's and mustard. Before serving brush on some buffalo wing sauce, you won't be sorry. Catfish nuggets work great and are about 1/3 the cost of fillets. I bake mine 450 degrees for 13 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Pretty good but very crackery. As others mentioned, broke this up into bigger chunks and also dredged in flour before frying for crispier edges. Made this with homemade tartar sauce (from this site). Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Ok, let me just say that I never do reviews, but after slapping myself in the face for not making this recipe sooner, and devouring these Catfish Cakes, I had to do one. This recipe is the best! My aunt thought she was doing us a favor by purchasing near 20 lbs of catfish for us to bring home from Memphis, and I needed a recipe. I used lowfat Ritz crackers and I also baked the fish first with garlic and onion powder and oldbay seasoning. I used spicy mustard and added some crushed red pepper to the mix. I fried half with flour and half without, but could not tell the difference once they were cooked. I will bake them next time. My husband loved them as well. The only thing I forgot was to make a sauce, but otherwise, they were percfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States