Caterpillar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was so great!! What are the chances I'd actually find a caterpillar cake when I looked for one. I used a bundt pan that had angular peaks in it (because that's all I had!) but it came out well!! I modeled mine after Eric Carle's "Very Hungry Caterpillar" and used it for my baby's 1st birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E.B.
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was a little more work than I had bargained for, but it turned out so cute, I can't complain. I made a smaller version of this cake for my son's first birthday and everyone just loved it...the birthday boy in particular. I placed it on large buttercream fondant leaves I'd made from a recipe on this site. I omitted the coconut (don't know if he's allergic yet) and decorated with Fruity Cheerios for spots and mini-marshmallows for eyes. I put extra frosting along the back and spiked it to make 'fur'. If you're no wuss when it comes to putting a little work into your baked goods, this is a fun little cake to tackle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very Fun to decorate for everyone, and extremely easy to make. Thank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ranson, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was perfect for my two year old's birthday! I added a box of vanilla and a box of chocolate pudding and upped the eggs to 5. Beat in a mixer according to directions. I added swirl chocolate (and white chocolate) chips...a whole bag. I also went with the very hungry caterpillar theme. I put hershey kisses for the legs. So cute!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I have made this numerous times and everytime its a hit. Decorate anyway you want. Lots of fun to make with "little" kitchen helpers. My niece loves to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Absolutely adorable! Beautiful presentation! I received many compliments. Allow yourself extra time to ice and decorate the cake. I served this at a spring brunch! Everyone loved it and it was so yummy! My guests were afraid to cut the first piece though because they were afraid of ruining it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I trippled this recipie for a large gathering, and it was amazing! The cake was inhaled! There was nothing left except some smears of icing and a few pieces of coconut! This was the easiest cake I've ever made, and was a total smash hit at my gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I used a different cake recipe, but I used the decorating idea for my boyfriend's birthday cake. (He's a kid at heart!) I actually based my caterpillar on the Eric Carle "The Very Hungry Caterpillar" and it was a big hit! I used spiral candles for antennae. Also, I used mini-Oreos coated in red icing as ladybugs. Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
What a hit at my son's school on his birthday! For a person like me who isn't very artistic this cake was a breeze and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States