Category Five Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
AWESOME!!! Added extra garlic, & some fresh lime juice, served it with a self serve taco bar at a party I hosted, & people just loved it!!! Also, used Chipotle powder in lieu of regular chili powder, & gave it a shot of Applewood liquid smoke! Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe if you like hot sauce. With a few additions this could easily be 5 stars. WARNING if you do not like extremely hot sauces this is not the sauce for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TWEETIE147
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was very easy and eveyone loved it. My brother in law wouldn't stop eating it even eith the sweat running off his fourhead. Will be making more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
great hot sauce for people who like it hot, not for the people who think they like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was my first attempt ever making any type of hot sauce. I chose this recipe because of the high quantity of habanero peppers, I like my food hot. I was amazed by how flavorful this sauce is, though I would assume that if you can't handle the heat you won't taste the flavor. I have made two batches of the sauce, the first without seeds and membrane and while delicious in flavor, it didn't pack the punch I was looking for. Round two was better, leaving in all seeds and membranes, I only removed the stems. I shall be making this again, though I could only find a couple people at work that would eat it. Guess that leaves more for me. Oh, and I did reduce the vinegar by about 1/3, not too keen on vinegar hot sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Maybe I should have left some of the seeds in. Not hot at all! But the taste is fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is a great sauce! Make sure you wear gloves and don't open the blender right away. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
NOT EDIBLE! The recipe needs to be revised to remove all seeds. I used the exact amount of peppers called for, leaving guts in since it didn't call for removal. I put a drop on my tongue and I swear this is poisonous!!! I love spicy food, and I POUR chili powder on Thai cuisine, and this is UNEDIBLE as written. Sorry, 1 star for a waste of my money. (fwiw, I reserved about 1/4 cup and quadrupled with Odwalla mango juice... still hotter than heck!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Wow-oh-Wow!! Great hot sauce! My husband has always wanted to try making hot sauce at home and this turned out great. I had to substitute some jalapenos, just because I couldn't find all the serranos we needed. Just a few suggestions for those new to the world of hot peppers...(1) wear kitchen gloves when taking off the stems (2)remove some or all of the seeds to reduce the heat and (3)wait awhile (and don't inhale) before taking the lid off that blender! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States