Cast-Iron Skillet Prime Rib Roast and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I am TERRIBLE at cooking roast....but this turned out perfect and the gravy is magnificent. I would serve with mashed potatoes or fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennylaika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious Christmas Dinner! My husband made this for our family Christmas dinner and it was absolutely delicious!! He prepared it as directed in the recipe and the beef melted in your mouth. He received rave reviews. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The cast iron skillet cooking method worked really well. It was simple, gave the outside of the roast the browning needed, and kept the inside so moist and tender with the low, slow roasting. I already had the roast in when I realized I'd forgotten to pick up beef broth, so I had to substitute a package of au just mix and water. But otherwise I followed this pretty closely, just adjusting for the size roast I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Omg my mother in law said it couldn't be done making gravy out of a prime rib! Thanks for proving her wrong! It was sooo good she only took leftover gravy home! We also had some good fun while making it with the chunks of onions and thyme sprigs she looked at me like I was crazy! I said no worries if it fails I have package gravy! Lol no packets needed! Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Of all the prime rib recipes I've made, this is THE BEST. Easy one-pan method that makes an incredible gravy. Don't expect the gravy to be thick, it's more like a very pourable "coat the back of a spoon gravy". Don't be afraid to add the beef juices to your gravy that accumulate from the resting (foil covered) rib roast. I didn't sear the roast dry, but added just the thinnest layer of canola oil & a pat of unsalted butter to create a nice brown sear before going into the oven. One of my dinner guest said this was the best tasting, fork licking prime rib he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motherheart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have done this a few times now. It always turns out perfect. I love cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I typically doctor up recipes to my liking, this time I used the recommended ingredients. Only needed 2 minutes on each side to sear on med high cast iron, 3 minutes would have overcooked. I used a lot more red wine than called for, which really hit the spot as the ribs were roasting. I also added the stock over time - only about 2/3 of recommended- to allow it to reduce. I have tried several of the rib roast recipes on this site, and while all of them have been good this one is the absolute bomb. There are lots of ways to roast a rib, but the cast sear is THE way to go. And the from scratch gravy is basic but it dominates - I recommend adding it to everything you serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Rishel Konig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
A cast iron skillet makes for a great stove top to oven roasting pan. I disagree with the instruction, "130 degrees F (54 degrees C) for rare, about 2 more hours." If you cook this to 130 and then let rest you will not have a 'rare' roast. After roasting and resting a final temperature of 130 - 135 is medium rare. I like the slow roast method but I should have seared the top fat cap longer than I did. It didn't have that crispy 'crust' that I like so much. Also, I didn't use wine in the gravy because we have a couple of people who don't care for the taste of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This roast was great. I added garlic to the rub and mushrooms with the onions. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Just perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States