Cassie's Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
The first time I made these, they were so-so, the second time I substituted applesauce for the oil, and added pieces of dark bittersweet chocolate, along with some semi-sweet chocolate chips to make these brownies unbelievable!! The texture was just right for me, thick and fudgy. No frosting needed. An awesome way to cut fat and add nutrition in brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
These were great. I do agree they are more cakey than fudgy, altough the middle was nice and gooey. I even tricked my 6 year old who will not let vegetables past her lips. I peeled the zucchini so she wouldn't see the green, but she still noticed some white flecks. I told her the white was white chocolate chips. I'm going to gradually start adding the peel in. This will definitely be a regular at my house! UPDATE-Okay, I ate one tht was baked yesterday and sat overnight. The brownie's are now fudgy and wonderful! The moisture from the zucchini must soak in more overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I loved these brownies. I have made them twice, and while they turned out different both times, both ways were great. I first time I made them I dried the zucchini well and it resulted in a fudgy brownie. The second time my zucchini had more moisture in it and the result was a more cake like brownie. I can't wait to see what I get the third time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
These brownies were super..I added twice as much zucchini since I have an abundant supply.I also added an extra one half cup of walnuts to it.You can never have enough walnuts in brownies!!! I also put buttercream icing on them and it was excellent...These were very moist. For those of you who said they turned out like cake must have used a regular cake pan....This was so easy too., and didn't take long to make....thanx for the recipe, Cassie !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I added a little brown sugar (1/2 cup) and 2 cups of chocolate chips. I also omitted the walnuts and baked it in a 9x13 pan and the kids devoured it in a few hours. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
My Kids Loved this recipe! for an added twist i put a package of semi-sweet chocolats on top and let them melt then spread it like frosting! they were gone the next day! this is a great way to use up extra Zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I have a massive amount of zucchini to use this summer and I found this brownies. They are very cake-like, which I love! The recipe was very easy and went together in about 5 minutes (zucchini already prepared). I didn't follow the other reviews until the brownies had baked about 10 minutes and then I decided to sprinkle some mixed chips on top. I also iced with a chocolate icing. They are yummy and will go over very well here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
awful. waste of baking ingredients. bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
My daughter and I enjoyed this recipe...although it really is more of a cake than a brownie. My husband and other two daughters turned their noses up at this because it wasn't sweet enough for them. Next time I will take other reviewers' suggestions and add chocolate chips or frosting to sweeten it up, athough I prefer it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I made these "brownies" for a potluck supper and everyone loved them - and nobody had any idea there was zucchini in there until I told them! Even the kids ate them up! I baked the recipe in a 9 x 13 pan (after reading other reviews) and also frosted them with canned chocolate frosting and sprinkled with walnuts rather than incorporating them into the batter. Definitely more of a cake than a brownie - but delicious no matter what you call it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States