Cassava Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CoCosmom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I followed the recipe but added shredded young coconut and only half of the coconut milk. It's delicious and we live it so much that my husband wants it served every week. We eat it topped with ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I give it a four because it reminded my wife of her childhood, she is Filipino, but it definitely needs 4 cups of the cassava and an extra can of sweetened condensed milk poured over the top. Not friendly to you waistline but definitely a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great for beginners. I used two bags of frozen cassava (Asian store) and followed the rest of the ingredients. I baked it for one hour and 10 minutes. Not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Perfect cake for the gluten intolerant! It takes about two cassava roots to make a little more than two cups. My local Stater Brother's carries it fresh. I peeled, cut, food processed and then Ninja'd the cassava to a paste. I used almost three cups. I did not have a liquid problem but put it in a colander anyway. Great taste and texture. It was firm like Jell-O. Taste even better cold the next day. I did the math, if the cake is divided into 12 pieces, its caloric value is about 280 calories per. Thanks Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Although I thought it was good, my family did not. It was interesting to try, but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I used turbo broiler for this. It works just as perfectly. This recipe is so easy and very cheap. I grated the cassava myself. Since there's so much water I squeezed out the excess liquid to make two cups of dried grated cassava. I also added 1 cup of coconut meat to give it more texture. Heavenly. I've been making it for pot lucks and my family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Cut into 4 inch logs, score the tough skin lengthwise every inch or so, peel off sections between the score lines, cut each log into halves lenthwise and remove the tough center veins. Process the clean pieces in a juicer to remove the liquid and keep about 2 cups of the fine paste to use in the recipe. The texture is more like bread pudding and is rather gummy. The flavor is excellent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect portion and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is the first time making casava cake and at first i thought too much liquid for this recipe but still did it and im surprised i cooked it perfect and no need to cook it in broiler to get it brown on top.. I cooked it for 1 hour and 5 minutes... Im happy and satisfied this recipe and i deffinitely make this recipe again...thank u for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Marty, you got it wrong. One package of Yucca is 16oz which makes 2 cups. This is the same recipe my family uses and its perfect. remember . There are so many different ways of making this just as for anything else. 2 cups is right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States