Cashew Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made this to serve at a lunch for my book club yesterday and there where no leftovers!Everyone raved about it and it was very colorful.Lots of requests for the recipe and almost everyone went back for seconds. I served it with a creamy chicken & chive dish and a caprese salad. I followed the recipe with only 1 change-I substitued dried chopped cherries instead of golden raisins(heh-it's Michigan!). My only other comment is that it is way more than a 5 minute prep. I cooked the wild rice for 50 minutes prior to even starting the recipe and also chopping the onions & carrots as well.We all loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I loved this! I didn't have onion salt so I used some garlic powder instead. I also didn't have wild rice but it was still great! Served it with bbq salmon and brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
WOW, nice...I caught my husband actually going to the fridge for leftovers of this rice! I sprinkled some orange zest on top..it was FANTASTIC and I'm incorporating it into our regular dinner routine! SO GLAD TO HAVE FOUND IT, THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jujubeee714

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I cheated and you can too! I melted butter in a 5 quart pot. Added onion, cashews, and finely chopped carrots. Sauteed for ~2 min on high heat. Add the remaining ingredients. I used two boxes of uncle bens long grain and wild rice and cooked for about 25 min - Until the rice absorbed the chicken broth. Everyone liked it so it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. It is amazing. I can't believe anyone could say it doesn't have flavor. It doesn't need added spices or anything. I am not a fan of raisins at all, but they are incredible in this recipe and you would definitely lose a lot by picking them out or omitting them. I first made this for a large party and everyone raved over it. The only change I made was to sub vegetable broth for the chicken broth as I had several vegetarians in attendance. Otherwise stuck to the recipe and it was/is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
It was okay. Made exactly as written. There is next to no spices or herbs so there is next to no flavor. It can be flavored up, but to do so would change it so much you would effectively be making something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This is a delicious side dish and goes very well with the Baked Halibut Steaks by Dakota Kelly. I only left out the raisins, this dish is super colorful and very tasty! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was okay. Everyone picked out the raisins, as it gave it an akward flavor. It seemed to take too much effort for the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I cooked this rice for my husband and I tonight and we had it as our main course because we aren't eating meat right now. I tweeked it a bit using vegetable oil instead of butter, omitting the peas, and using only plain white uncooked rice (I live in a country where you can't by the long grain or wild rice varieties). I began by sauteing the uncooked rice with the carrots, onion, and raisins until browned, added the broth and spices boiled, simmered, and then added the cashews and green onion at the end. It was a wonderful dish that we both loved (although my husband said it was a little on the sweet side). I thought it was very tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I made this with some modifications and it was still very tasty! I left out the carrots and peas and used sliced almonds (toasted in a dry pan) instead. Next time I will saute the onions briefly first and then add the rice, as I felt the rice was burning and the onions did not have sufficient time to cook. I could not find wild rice, and while I think that would add to the flavor, it did not affect the overall outcome of the dish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States