Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
very interesting flavor with a crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
very good, but it's missing something. not sure what. but this makes a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rmolledo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This tasted great! I liked the different textures and flavors that resulted from mixing the different types of rice, veggies, cashews and raisins. For some reason, I always have trouble making rice, so to make sure I the rice came out correctly for me, I made the the wild rice first in a rice cooker, then put the wild rice in the refrigerator and cooked the long grain rice in the rice cooker. I simmered the butter, onions, and carrots for fifteen minutes, then I combined all the ingredients in the end. The dish looked great....I should have taken a picture but I was too hungry to take time out to take a pic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Manalang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Dish was really good, but the rice took forever to cook and the vegeatables got overcooked. When I make this again I will cook the rice separately in my rice steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Delicious! Sweet and rich flavor, with a wonderfully unique texture from crunchy cashews and raisins (if you like raisins at all, I would recommend doubling the amount!) My family gobbled it all up the first time I made it, and it's now a favorite family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Pretty to look at but kind of ok to eat. Complicated to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This dish is very good and kid-friendly. Great for a picnic as is. Made it with the same ingredients as featured. It would be a help if the directions were edited to put the wild rice on first, then prep for the rest of the dish in the meantime. If I were serving this with ethnic food, I may add curry, or cumin depending on the main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was very good. I substituted olive oil for the margarine, roasted red peppers for the pimento peppers, and I added cumin and curry powder. Based on other reviews, I toasted the nuts and started the wild rice first so everything would be finished at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I am not a rice fan but I have to say this is some of the best rice I have ever had. It wasn't hard, the ingredients were easily obtainable and it made way moer than the 2 of us could eat in one setting(and I did cut the recipe way down) It will be something I will be proud to serve for guests and family alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe makes for a beautiful presentation with all the colors. Next time I make it though I need to layer with seasoning as it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States