Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
My family ate this one right up! Read it through, though -- she's got two pots going, and the second pot needs to be started before the first pot if they're going to finish together. Which also brings me to the fact it's kind of a bummer that you have to dirty two pots and take up two burners. It seems like it ought to be possible to do it all in one pot. For instance, if you precooked the wild rice for 20 minutes, then drained it and started the butter, white rice, onion, carrot, and raisins in the same pot, then added the wild rice back in with the broth, wouldn't that work? You could increase the broth a bit to make up for a little more cooking for the wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I recently prepared this recipe for a church group of 98 people! It scaled perfectly and everybody loved it! I put it together the night before and put it in the refrigerator overnight to let the flavors blend. I toasted the cashews and added them at the last minute so they wouldn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This rice dish is delicious...a wonderful combination of flavours and textures.It's like music for the mouth! The only thing I did differently was to toast the cashews before adding them to the rice.I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is a really, really good dish...very tasty and versatile. I think you could adapt it a number of ways. I didn't have cashews or raisins on hand...so I used dried cranberries and toasted pecans, and omitted the pimento. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This dish was superb! I made a few changes though: I used 1/2C Wild Rice/Long Grain Rice because I couldn't find just plain Wild Rice. I mixed it with 1/2C Uncle Ben's Extra Long Grain Rice, used 2 Cups of chicken broth. I also cut down the amounts to 1/3 of all the vegetables as well, since there's only my husband and me. I also followed another reader's advise and toasted the cashew's as well and this was an outstanding dish. I made the sweet pork chops (on this site) with it and used the sauce from that over this rice dish. My husband can't wait for me to make it again. I still have leftovers of the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I actually changed quite a bit of this recipe. I sauted the onion and some angel hair pasta, added vegetable broth, raisins, and rice, salt and some saffron. I toasted almonds, because I didn't have cashews or carrots. After the rice was done cooking I added frozen peas and toasted almonds. Yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Had some left over cooked brown rice, so I didn't use the long grain white rice or wild rice called for in this recipe or the broth. But added everything else to the rice & thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Siembida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Delicious! I have made this dish many times. I served it at a ladies luncheon and had so many compliments. For Christmas I used almonds and dried cranberries instead of cashews and raisins. Easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
AWESOME recipe! This is the best rice dish I've ever had. Not only is it delicious, it's a really pretty dish. I will be serving this time and time again...Thanks Granny Loretta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States