Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Oh my! I would give this 10 stars if I could. I made this as a side, but I ate all the leftovers as a main dish. This makes alot but don't worry you will love it. Great flavors and so colorful and pretty! I used the pre-cut jullienne carrots and just chopped them a few more times. Cooked the wild rice in the rice cooker (added 1/2 c more water and cooked for 60 minutes). I only used 1Tbsp of margarine to make it a bit healthier. Only added the cashews on top after plating. This would be good with any dried fruit (cranberries, etc) Next time I might add a little sage and dried cranberries for a "stuffing" flavor. Great recipe that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was very good. I loved it. Great flavour. I did not add the peas and pimentos as I didn't have any. And I didn't add the salt as I felt the chicken broth was salty enough - glad I didn't as it was plenty salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I left out the peas (my eaters don't like them) and the pimento peppers but the other ingredients made a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made this for Christmass and it was awesome! Didn't change a thing. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was really good! We didn't have plain old wild rice at the store, so I used a mix of basamati and wild rice. I also left out the salt and pepper. To start, I melted the butter, added all of the rice, broth, 1 c of water and onion/carrots/raisins. I let it simmer for 25 minutes, then, after adding the rest of the ingredients I also threw in an extra cup of water. I put the cashews (toasted, as recommended) in at the last second and served it up! There is SO MUCH of this stuff - we will be eating it for awhile... not a problem :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I have made this a few times and loved it! It's such a wonderful combination of textures and flavors. Also very good served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
It made me an absolute glutton! Just couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I agree with those who think it's missing something. I thought, with all of these ingredients, it would be full of flavor but was surprised how bland it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Excellent! I made this for a New Year's dinner and recieved so many enthusiastic, full-mouthed comments about this rice. I'll definitely make this again over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRUDCHIC7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Linda, California, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States