Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is like a party in the mouth! So many wonderful flavors (all which can be adjusted to your liking) I served this with a blackened mahi mahi and asparagus and it was a huge hit! I left out the pimentos (didn't have any) other than that I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! Unless of course to modify to suit specific entrees : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Tasty and easy. I took this to a potluck and people liked it. My only change was that instead of the 3/4 cups uncooked wild rice, which I didn't have, I used a 6 oz box of Uncle Ben's long grain rice/wild rice mix. Cooked it in rice cooker with a little olive oil, water and a just sprinkle from the seasoning package it came with. forgot to add the pimento peppers but still tasted good. I used low-sodium broth and omitted the 1 tsp. salt, and it was just fine without. Next time will try with the wild rice, but halving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Oh my! I would give this 10 stars if I could. I made this as a side, but I ate all the leftovers as a main dish. This makes alot but don't worry you will love it. Great flavors and so colorful and pretty! I used the pre-cut jullienne carrots and just chopped them a few more times. Cooked the wild rice in the rice cooker (added 1/2 c more water and cooked for 60 minutes). I only used 1Tbsp of margarine to make it a bit healthier. Only added the cashews on top after plating. This would be good with any dried fruit (cranberries, etc) Next time I might add a little sage and dried cranberries for a "stuffing" flavor. Great recipe that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was very good. I loved it. Great flavour. I did not add the peas and pimentos as I didn't have any. And I didn't add the salt as I felt the chicken broth was salty enough - glad I didn't as it was plenty salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I left out the peas (my eaters don't like them) and the pimento peppers but the other ingredients made a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made this for Christmass and it was awesome! Didn't change a thing. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was really good! We didn't have plain old wild rice at the store, so I used a mix of basamati and wild rice. I also left out the salt and pepper. To start, I melted the butter, added all of the rice, broth, 1 c of water and onion/carrots/raisins. I let it simmer for 25 minutes, then, after adding the rest of the ingredients I also threw in an extra cup of water. I put the cashews (toasted, as recommended) in at the last second and served it up! There is SO MUCH of this stuff - we will be eating it for awhile... not a problem :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I have made this a few times and loved it! It's such a wonderful combination of textures and flavors. Also very good served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
It made me an absolute glutton! Just couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I agree with those who think it's missing something. I thought, with all of these ingredients, it would be full of flavor but was surprised how bland it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States