Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
This dish was superb! I made a few changes though: I used 1/2C Wild Rice/Long Grain Rice because I couldn't find just plain Wild Rice. I mixed it with 1/2C Uncle Ben's Extra Long Grain Rice, used 2 Cups of chicken broth. I also cut down the amounts to 1/3 of all the vegetables as well, since there's only my husband and me. I also followed another reader's advise and toasted the cashew's as well and this was an outstanding dish. I made the sweet pork chops (on this site) with it and used the sauce from that over this rice dish. My husband can't wait for me to make it again. I still have leftovers of the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
It goes very well with fish and chicken dishes. I made it several times and still love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This rice dish is delicious...a wonderful combination of flavours and textures.It's like music for the mouth! The only thing I did differently was to toast the cashews before adding them to the rice.I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Really good. Was a little skeptical at some of the ingredients, but once I got it together and tasted it.....it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This recipe is awesome, I made it for Easter and I couldn't stop eating it!!!!!!! What a wonderful dish, and my husband told me that's the best rice dish he had ever eaten!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I recently prepared this recipe for a church group of 98 people! It scaled perfectly and everybody loved it! I put it together the night before and put it in the refrigerator overnight to let the flavors blend. I toasted the cashews and added them at the last minute so they wouldn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is a really, really good dish...very tasty and versatile. I think you could adapt it a number of ways. I didn't have cashews or raisins on hand...so I used dried cranberries and toasted pecans, and omitted the pimento. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
AWESOME recipe! This is the best rice dish I've ever had. Not only is it delicious, it's a really pretty dish. I will be serving this time and time again...Thanks Granny Loretta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Interesting dish with all the textures and flavors that really complement each other. Very pretty, too. It makes a LOT. Next time, I will toast the cashews and sprinkle them on top so they will stay crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Excellent recipe that makes a lot of rice. We ate this by itself for lunch, as well as a side dish with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States