Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This dish was good, colorful, and healthy. I used brown rice instead of white, low-sodium broth, and omitted the salt and pimentos. I also used dries cranberries instead of raisins. I cut the recipe in half and it still made plenty. It could use a little more flavor, maybe in the form of garlic. I served this with salmon and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I had less rise than I thought, and used about half rice half couscous. Also, I only had whole raw almonds, so I chopped those up in place of cashews. It tasted realy good and the sweetness of the raisins was a nice addition to a savory dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe and easily adjusted. I use craisins instead of raisins and always get compliments on this dish. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was absolutely delicious, I am a major cashew fan and haven't had them this way, ever. I halved the recipe, and used a long grain/wild rice mixture (made by S & W) to cut down cooking time and dishes to wash. Package called for 2 c. broth:1 c. rice, which is what I used. I didn't add pimentos and I used brown raisins instead of golden. Even my 13 month old liked it (she had the peas, carrots and rice). Excellent side dish, one that I will be sharing with my family and friends. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
A little too mild. I might add lime and a little jerk type seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Very Good, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was a nice change of pace. Not as kid friendly as basic rice, more of an adult dish, with its combination of flavors. Overall, I enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
My family ate this one right up! Read it through, though -- she's got two pots going, and the second pot needs to be started before the first pot if they're going to finish together. Which also brings me to the fact it's kind of a bummer that you have to dirty two pots and take up two burners. It seems like it ought to be possible to do it all in one pot. For instance, if you precooked the wild rice for 20 minutes, then drained it and started the butter, white rice, onion, carrot, and raisins in the same pot, then added the wild rice back in with the broth, wouldn't that work? You could increase the broth a bit to make up for a little more cooking for the wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Excellent recipe that makes a lot of rice. We ate this by itself for lunch, as well as a side dish with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is a really, really good dish...very tasty and versatile. I think you could adapt it a number of ways. I didn't have cashews or raisins on hand...so I used dried cranberries and toasted pecans, and omitted the pimento. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States