Cashew Raisin Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I meant to say it was good. More than Ok. The proportions are good. We added bite sized chicken meat that had been boiled in water, onions and celery It did lack flavor though. I think it could be flavored mediterranean, middle eastern, or asian. I am going to try adding basil and garlic next time.definitely a recipe with good textures and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
My family loves this recipe even my 2 year old! I didnt use wild rice at all and I think it might be better without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is absolutely amazing. However, it took me a lot longer than 15 minutes to prepare it but well worth whatever time it takes. My guests all raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Flavors went together surprisingly well. I made some minor subs. Regular raisins and canned peas because that's what I had on hand. I gently folded the peas into the mix. No cashews because I forgot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
LOVE this recipe for its color and texture. Definitely a good choice when planning a fancy meal. Raisins are not an option in our household, so we didn't add 'em. Otherwise an excellent dish. The only reason I reserved one star is that it's really tough to make this just right (texturally). First, one has to find wild rice separate from long grain, which I eventually did, but it's expensive that way. Easier to locate are myriads of rice mixtures which, of course, cook up part mushy & part crispy. This will stay in my go-to recipes for dressed up meals, but for a staple I'll use this simply as a way to pretty up singular rice cooked per package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was really good! I left out the pimento peppers and substituted walnuts for the cashews. Also added cooked cubed chicken to make it a main dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Awesome! I didn't have cashews, but pepitas worked really well, and left out the pimentos and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
loved it! i make it for my family at least once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I actually changed quite a bit of this recipe. I sauted the onion and some angel hair pasta, added vegetable broth, raisins, and rice, salt and some saffron. I toasted almonds, because I didn't have cashews or carrots. After the rice was done cooking I added frozen peas and toasted almonds. Yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Siembida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States