Cashew Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kdanstoff
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
These will probably be a one hit wonder for me. The frosting is addicting but the cookie itself isn't anything spectacular. I think reducing the backing power could make it less cakey which seems like it would be better. I'd like the frosting more glazy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I took these cookies to a Christmas party, and they disappeared in minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made these today to share at work, and they were gone in under an hour. This recipe gets five stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very good brown surgery tasting cookie. Easy to make, suitable for baking with children. At the children's request, we left off the frosting and pushed a Hershey's chocolate kiss on the top of each warm cookie. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
It's all about the frosting! The cookies are just ok and then you put the frosting on for the magic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great cookies. Unique. Won't find like them anywhere else. 30 minutes after baking is *not* the right time to taste them. The frosting and the cookie combine for great flavor the next morning or later. Delicious delicious frosting. I did a double batch of the cookies and frosting. Batch 1: As the recipe said. Seemed too cakeish right away but turned out *wonderfully* in the morning. Very good combined with frosting. Batch 2: I folded in some chunky Peanut butter (all natural, no extra sugar, about 1/3 cup) and some JIF (1/3 cup, some extra sugar). These are more crumbly than the first but still delicious. GENERAL: Use double vanilla. Much better. Half sugar on the frosting. Let cool till next morning. Then try for best effect. If you want perfection that evening, try another recipe; these are best if they sit for a while. Very addictive once complete. FROSTING: Browning the butter on high is possible and faster. Just don't assume it's not browning cause you can't immediately see the color. The trick is let it boil but stir fast (2 minutes). Then let cool. I only used half the sugar. I can't imagine using more. It was plenty sweet and a perfect blend with the cookie. I am going to try the frosting with a bit of orange zest-I suspect this would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The original recipe is bland. I found it improved with these alterations: increase vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp, increase salt to 1/2 tsp & roast the raw cashews before adding to recipe. Canned roasted cashews would work, too, but do not increase salt if using canned, salted roasted cashews. Baking time is more like 11 -12 minutes than 15 minutes and the flavor intensifies if cookies are allowed to sit 2-3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
With a few changes these make the cutest little Christmas cookies and I have used them for years for holiday baking. First, use only 1 c. of cashews for a softer cookie. Make them a level teaspoon so their size is a little smaller. Immediately upon taking them out of the oven, use your thumb to make a nice deep indentation right in the center of the cookie. Make sure it is well formed so it will nicely hold the frosting. I add green or red food coloring or divide the frosting into two bowls and use both and put a dollop in each center once the cookie has cooled a little. Then I quickly add a little silver candy ball decoration to the middle of each before the frosting hardens. They are so cute and festive and, of course, delicious too and make a great addition to a cookie plate. Always the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
These were wonderful! I took them to a party and everyone loved them. I overheard "Take one of those cookies for a nibble while you're waiting in line!" And I watched *everyone* arrive back at the table with an already bitten cookie and a smile! One note: I overbaked one tray of these, rescued just before burning - they got brown and crisp and I loved them that way too, but without the frosting. Next note: if your cashews are already salted, you won't need to add any more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eerriiccaa
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am a novice baker, and have always relied on the recipes that have hundreds of reviews...and am consistently disappointed. They are always too blah for my liking. I thought I'd take a risk and try a recipe that had only 24 reviews, because it sounded SO yummy and there aren't very many cashew cookie recipes out there. Cashews are my favorite, favorite, favorite, so I bit the bullet and made these tonight. Originally I was going to take them to work but they are too good to leave this house. My boyfriend and I will make it a priority to eat all of these ourselves, and give away a few to some VERY lucky friends. Because there isn't a ton of sugar in the cookie, it's not extremely sweet, and the rich, sweet icing is the perfect companion to the cookie. I was a little worried about "browning butter" because there is a fine line between browning and burning, but it was super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States