Cashew Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The original recipe is bland. I found it improved with these alterations: increase vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp, increase salt to 1/2 tsp & roast the raw cashews before adding to recipe. Canned roasted cashews would work, too, but do not increase salt if using canned, salted roasted cashews. Baking time is more like 11 -12 minutes than 15 minutes and the flavor intensifies if cookies are allowed to sit 2-3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I was unable to go visit my husband's family with him for the holidays, so I sent him with bags of cookies for all his relatives. I was initally afraid to include these cashew cookies because I did overcook them a little (BEWARE..I started off with 12 min. and they were def. overdone. Next time I will start checking them after about 9 1/2 min. They were dry the first night but seemed to soften up over the next couple days. But I was glad I did include them...they were my dad's and both his parents' favorites in the whole bag!! (I had Award Winning Choc Chip, Big Soft Ginger Cookies and Peanut Butter Cup cookies, so that's saying a lot!!!) Also, next time I will put the frosting in a ziploc bag and cut the corner so I can squeeze/drizzle the frosting on...I had a really hard time spreading the frosting on and I had to make it really thick (a little too thick) for it to stick to the cookie and look nice. ALSO...the frosting doesn't look anything like the cookies in the "main photo"...i guess i didn't look at the other photos before i started and freaked out when my frosting was thick and white, more like cake frosting...not yellow-buttery looking glaze like the picture. But the frosting was still good and better than without it. I'd be interested in knowing what kind of glaze is on those cookies in the main picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcmeade79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Very good cookie...has a buttery/nutty taste. I chopped the cashews up with my food processor, being careful not to chop them too fine. From the previous reviews, I expected them to be on the "not-so-sweet" side, but I thought they were plenty sweet. And, actually a quite "rich" cookie. These would make a good cookie for holiday baking, as I considered them to be a "special" treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
With a few changes these make the cutest little Christmas cookies and I have used them for years for holiday baking. First, use only 1 c. of cashews for a softer cookie. Make them a level teaspoon so their size is a little smaller. Immediately upon taking them out of the oven, use your thumb to make a nice deep indentation right in the center of the cookie. Make sure it is well formed so it will nicely hold the frosting. I add green or red food coloring or divide the frosting into two bowls and use both and put a dollop in each center once the cookie has cooled a little. Then I quickly add a little silver candy ball decoration to the middle of each before the frosting hardens. They are so cute and festive and, of course, delicious too and make a great addition to a cookie plate. Always the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great cookies. Unique. Won't find like them anywhere else. 30 minutes after baking is *not* the right time to taste them. The frosting and the cookie combine for great flavor the next morning or later. Delicious delicious frosting. I did a double batch of the cookies and frosting. Batch 1: As the recipe said. Seemed too cakeish right away but turned out *wonderfully* in the morning. Very good combined with frosting. Batch 2: I folded in some chunky Peanut butter (all natural, no extra sugar, about 1/3 cup) and some JIF (1/3 cup, some extra sugar). These are more crumbly than the first but still delicious. GENERAL: Use double vanilla. Much better. Half sugar on the frosting. Let cool till next morning. Then try for best effect. If you want perfection that evening, try another recipe; these are best if they sit for a while. Very addictive once complete. FROSTING: Browning the butter on high is possible and faster. Just don't assume it's not browning cause you can't immediately see the color. The trick is let it boil but stir fast (2 minutes). Then let cool. I only used half the sugar. I can't imagine using more. It was plenty sweet and a perfect blend with the cookie. I am going to try the frosting with a bit of orange zest-I suspect this would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This is a delicious recipe. The cookie is soft and moist and turns out almost like a mini cake. The cookie by itself is not-so-sweet, but tastes excellent with the frosting. The slightly nutty flavor of the 'burned' butter was delicious. I brought them to work today and they were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
Excellent cookie! I think the term "burned butter" kind of scares people off though. From the way the butter frosting turns out, I think it should be referred to as "carmel butter". Very NUMMY !! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Burned butter frosting on these cookies is DELICIOUS! Cookies are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eerriiccaa
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am a novice baker, and have always relied on the recipes that have hundreds of reviews...and am consistently disappointed. They are always too blah for my liking. I thought I'd take a risk and try a recipe that had only 24 reviews, because it sounded SO yummy and there aren't very many cashew cookie recipes out there. Cashews are my favorite, favorite, favorite, so I bit the bullet and made these tonight. Originally I was going to take them to work but they are too good to leave this house. My boyfriend and I will make it a priority to eat all of these ourselves, and give away a few to some VERY lucky friends. Because there isn't a ton of sugar in the cookie, it's not extremely sweet, and the rich, sweet icing is the perfect companion to the cookie. I was a little worried about "browning butter" because there is a fine line between browning and burning, but it was super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
THese recieved so many compliments. The nutty, buttery flavor of the cashews went so good with the sweet frosting. I incresded the amount of sour cream and used 2 cups of cashews. The only thing is these do not spread out that well so you'll need to flatten them out a little. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States