Cashew Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I was unable to go visit my husband's family with him for the holidays, so I sent him with bags of cookies for all his relatives. I was initally afraid to include these cashew cookies because I did overcook them a little (BEWARE..I started off with 12 min. and they were def. overdone. Next time I will start checking them after about 9 1/2 min. They were dry the first night but seemed to soften up over the next couple days. But I was glad I did include them...they were my dad's and both his parents' favorites in the whole bag!! (I had Award Winning Choc Chip, Big Soft Ginger Cookies and Peanut Butter Cup cookies, so that's saying a lot!!!) Also, next time I will put the frosting in a ziploc bag and cut the corner so I can squeeze/drizzle the frosting on...I had a really hard time spreading the frosting on and I had to make it really thick (a little too thick) for it to stick to the cookie and look nice. ALSO...the frosting doesn't look anything like the cookies in the "main photo"...i guess i didn't look at the other photos before i started and freaked out when my frosting was thick and white, more like cake frosting...not yellow-buttery looking glaze like the picture. But the frosting was still good and better than without it. I'd be interested in knowing what kind of glaze is on those cookies in the main picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcmeade79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
very good, not too sweet, not too bland :) followed directions but added a little vegetable oil to the recipe to make the cookies a little chewy, and they turned out great! just wish i used more cashews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Can't remember when I have had such a good cookie that was so easy to make.My company raved,and everyone took home the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
THese recieved so many compliments. The nutty, buttery flavor of the cashews went so good with the sweet frosting. I incresded the amount of sour cream and used 2 cups of cashews. The only thing is these do not spread out that well so you'll need to flatten them out a little. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These are my alltime favorite cookies! I include them on my holiday platters, and I always get a lot of requests about the frosting. Make sure and let the butter start to turn brown, or you wont get the full flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Hmmm, I had some major problems with the recipe as is. The cookies came out very flat on the first round I put in. So I added a few heaping spoonfuls of flour, mixed it up, and tried again. They puffed up more like the pictures submitted. I looked up the recipe primarily for the frosting. There is a baker in town that makes burnt butter frosting on a sour cream cookie and it is to die for. The frosting recipe here is very close. If it wasn't for the problem with the flour, I would have rated the recipe higher. But it could be that I am at a high altitude (4600+ feet). I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I have made this little cookie for years. Got recipe from friend in Wisc. and her Grandma made it. We are in late 50's and all love this cookie. Don't always know how long to brown butter. Will see what others say. Want to enter in newspaper Cookie Contest. Had written up the recipe but could not find it in my WORD so went on line and saw you. Second part of recipe did not print just now. Will check it out. Barbara Dean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
They're decent. The frosting is not too sweet, but you could leave it off if you're just looking for a more plain, nutty flavor. The cookie had a toffee flavor. Mom gave it a 3 and they weren't attacked by the fam, so I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These cookies were OK. Cookie was a little bland and the frosting was a little too sweet. They were not bad but my family didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
These cookies are the perfect foundation for the out-of-this world browned butter icing. Wow! Everyone I served these to asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States