Cashew Chicken with Water Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I added garlic to the chicken as well and did red peppers for color along with broccoli. I also used scallions (green onions) instead of yellow. The recipe is easy and the sauce very good. The whole family at it without complaint! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I thought this was great! I was amazed that I could cook a dish, similar to those you might get from a take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon Western

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This will be a regular on the dinner rotation for my family. We all loved it! I did make a couple changes....I added 2 TBSP of hoisen sauce as recommended by other reviewers, and used sesame oil in place of the vegetable oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Big hit with family. Didn't have bell pepper or water chestnuts, so used asparagus and carrots. Used tamarin instead of soy sauce to make it gluten free. Used siriacha sauce for the hot sauce. Was delicious and came together quickly. Nice thick sauce, with crisp veggies. The sauce wasn't spicy at all. I think the 1/2 t of hot sauce is just to give depth to the recipe. Big winner at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Excellent recipe. Added fresh ginger and oyster sauce (2 T of soy sauce and 1 T of oyster) and fresh garlic for personal tastes. Also added 2 stalks of celery to up the veggies. Sprinkled green onion on top when served. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
The sauce was bland. I omitted the hot sauce as I wanted flavor, but not a hot one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Cook chicken with ginger, garlic, red pepper flake. Leave out the onions, do large sliced bell pepper and sugar snap peas. Double the hot sauce. And I think it needs a tsp of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Stephen
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I decided to make this recipe after eating an amazing cashew chicken dish at a Halifax restaurant. This recipe was good, but not as close to what I had in mind as I'd hoped. Like the restaurant I went to, I quartered two whole oranges rather than using water chestnuts; other then this change, I prepared the recipe as directed. The mixture of foods was good, but I found the sauce more bland than I'd hoped for. I will try something similar again, but will research more into possible sauce ingredients first, and will plan to make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very good, I just added a bit more hot sauce and sesame oil. Served it with snow peas. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
needed some kind of oomph. Maybe rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States