Cashew Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My whole family loved this recipe! I made a few adjustments for what I had on hand. I didn't have celery or bamboo shoots, so we added some big slices of onion, some sliced carrots, and some green onions. The only other things I added where 1/8 tsp. sesame seed oil and 1 tsp. rice vinegar. Oh, and I toasted the cashews in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes, (maybe less time - just until brown. Really brings out the flavor.) I thought I should also note that I used a level 1/3 of cornstarch. This may be obvious to some, but I normally do rounded tablespoons, so I wasn't sure if this was a rounded or level 1/3 cup. I followed the rest of the recipe to a T, and it was perfect. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Made this dish for dinner tonight, loved it! I did reduce broth to 2.5 cups and did add 1 tablespoon of Oyster Sauce. Also used just 3 tablespoons of cornstarch to keep with the traditional light delicateness this dish is known for. Will be a monthly addition in my home. -Michelle Scanlon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this recipe per the directions once and found it bland and too cornstarchy. We ended up with lots of leftovers. After reading the reviews I decided to kick it up a notch. I only added 1C of chicken broth and only a Tbsp of cornstarch so that I had a nice sauce, but not too much. Then I added garlic & ginger and just a couple Tbsps of brown sugar. It was light and full of flavor and my family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made this for supper tonite. Was really tasty. I always add more soy sauce (I put some on the chicken pieces 5 min before I saute them) so it is a little yummier (ok I love salt and so does hubby) great first recipe of cashew chicken for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made half the recipe. After reading the ingredients, it sounded like it would be too salty so I skipped the salt and used low salt soy sauce. I also used homemade chicken broth. Other than those changes, followed the directions; but we found it to be very bland. Maybe adding other veggies, spice such as ginger, etc would help. We always like to try new recipes; thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Not sure about this one! I added about 4 garlic cloves when cooking the chicken. Also, I added extra soy sauce, seasme seed oil and garlic salt to the sauce. It was pretty good after that, but definitely not one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Not bad at all... I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and added some garlic. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was a tasty recipe, but I did a few additions that will definitely perk this up. Instead of doubling the soy sauce like other reviewers, I added Oyster Sauce (about 2 tbsp.). I am Asian, and oyster sauce is used substantially in brown sauces. I did not add as much broth, but eyeballed the amount of liquid I wanted as a sauce. I also used maybe 3 tbsp. of cornstarch and that was thick enough. Also, I added chopped garlic in the oil first and fried the chicken. Then I seasoned with salt, pepper and onion powder for an extra kick. I also added some chopped green onion (scallions) with the celery. The textures were wonderful and the taste sensational. If you finish the sauce with a few drops of sesame oil, it will taste as authentic as a real Chinese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Just like I get at China Garden! One thing I would recommend is either to purchase raw cashews, or rinse off the salted ones, as with the salt, soy sauce and chicken broth, salted cashews would be WAY too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I should have consulted the reviews again before cooking. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was good but very bland. Additional vegetables would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States