Cashew Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
After reading the other reviews I made my own variation and the kids loved it. I substituted approximately 4 cups of chicken nuggets for the chicken meat, added another Tbl. of soy sauce, a teaspoon of ginger, some onion and garlic powder and a cup of chinese vegetables. My kids ate this very well and asked that I make it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Not a keeper-my kids and I thought it didn't have much flavor-my husband took one bite and called out for pizza. I didn't care for the soy sauce-soup combo-didn't taste right. Won't be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This tastes nothing like the cashew chicken I am used to. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This casserole was too bland for my tastes, and needs some spicing up. My husband and I decided shredded turkey would be better than chicken, then add some garlic and a generous helping of lemon pepper. If you're making this for the first time, try halfing the recipe in case you don't like it. I still have leftovers in my refrigerator that I'll probably end up throwing out, unfortunately. The only redeeming quality of this recipe was the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This recipe wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. We really had to think about whether it was a "do again" or "never again". Since it was just ok, I don't believe I will try it again. I guess I just didn't like the soy sauce flavor with the soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
The fastest dish I've ever made... Took only a few minutes to make. I agree that it lacks flavor. I used more soy sauce, boneless chicken thighs (super soft meat) and served with edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I used cream of celery instead of mushroom because I hate mushrooms and it was ok. It is very bland, needs a little spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
My kids loved this recipe. It was sweet and crunchy. A great way to use leftover rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
this is a very nice dish. i did a couple things of my own... i cooked some boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken then added it in w/ the rest. also added some broccoli. the only thing is , is it is bland. it really needs some kind of spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My husband and I really liked this casserole! Of course, I made a few changes, ok maybe a lot of changes. I only used 1/2 cup chicken broth and only one can of soup - the cream of chicken. I also only used 2 cups of (brown) rice. I added 1 clove minced garlic, 1 tsp. grated ginger root, 1 can bamboo shoots and 1 can sliced water chestnuts. I cut up 1 lb. chicken breast into 1" pieces and baked the casserole at 350 for 30 minutes. My husband thought it was a lot like Chinese food and was suprised to hear there was a can of soup in it. It was just the right amount of food for the 2 of us, with leftovers for the next night. This is a keeper! Next time I will add diced carrots and celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States