Cashew Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
After reading the other reviews I made my own variation and the kids loved it. I substituted approximately 4 cups of chicken nuggets for the chicken meat, added another Tbl. of soy sauce, a teaspoon of ginger, some onion and garlic powder and a cup of chinese vegetables. My kids ate this very well and asked that I make it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Not a keeper-my kids and I thought it didn't have much flavor-my husband took one bite and called out for pizza. I didn't care for the soy sauce-soup combo-didn't taste right. Won't be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This tastes nothing like the cashew chicken I am used to. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This casserole was too bland for my tastes, and needs some spicing up. My husband and I decided shredded turkey would be better than chicken, then add some garlic and a generous helping of lemon pepper. If you're making this for the first time, try halfing the recipe in case you don't like it. I still have leftovers in my refrigerator that I'll probably end up throwing out, unfortunately. The only redeeming quality of this recipe was the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This recipe wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. We really had to think about whether it was a "do again" or "never again". Since it was just ok, I don't believe I will try it again. I guess I just didn't like the soy sauce flavor with the soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
The fastest dish I've ever made... Took only a few minutes to make. I agree that it lacks flavor. I used more soy sauce, boneless chicken thighs (super soft meat) and served with edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I used cream of celery instead of mushroom because I hate mushrooms and it was ok. It is very bland, needs a little spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
My kids loved this recipe. It was sweet and crunchy. A great way to use leftover rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
this is a very nice dish. i did a couple things of my own... i cooked some boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken then added it in w/ the rest. also added some broccoli. the only thing is , is it is bland. it really needs some kind of spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My husband and I really liked this casserole! Of course, I made a few changes, ok maybe a lot of changes. I only used 1/2 cup chicken broth and only one can of soup - the cream of chicken. I also only used 2 cups of (brown) rice. I added 1 clove minced garlic, 1 tsp. grated ginger root, 1 can bamboo shoots and 1 can sliced water chestnuts. I cut up 1 lb. chicken breast into 1" pieces and baked the casserole at 350 for 30 minutes. My husband thought it was a lot like Chinese food and was suprised to hear there was a can of soup in it. It was just the right amount of food for the 2 of us, with leftovers for the next night. This is a keeper! Next time I will add diced carrots and celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States