Cashew Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My husband and I really liked this casserole! Of course, I made a few changes, ok maybe a lot of changes. I only used 1/2 cup chicken broth and only one can of soup - the cream of chicken. I also only used 2 cups of (brown) rice. I added 1 clove minced garlic, 1 tsp. grated ginger root, 1 can bamboo shoots and 1 can sliced water chestnuts. I cut up 1 lb. chicken breast into 1" pieces and baked the casserole at 350 for 30 minutes. My husband thought it was a lot like Chinese food and was suprised to hear there was a can of soup in it. It was just the right amount of food for the 2 of us, with leftovers for the next night. This is a keeper! Next time I will add diced carrots and celery too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Do not make this recipe! It was very, very dry - too much rice, not enough liquids. I have a family of 6 and none ate it. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is a good solid week night recipe, though not something I am going to use for guests. I also made several changes - I used uncooked rice, and used 1.5 cups of vegetable broth instead of 1 cup of chicken broth (extra liquid to cook the rice, and extra flavor in the veg broth). I also used chicken breasts (precooked in garlic, parsley, and veg broth). I added extra cashews, and loaded up with lots of stir-fry type veggies to perk up the flavor. It was very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this meal. It is a great meal to fix and continue to eat for leftovers as I am a single person. I am a picky eater, so I do a few substitutes (like two cans of cream of chicken soup instead of 1/1 of cream of chicken and cream of mushroom). I also add more cashews! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
There wasn't anything special about the recipe at all. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great. I used it for a dinner party and everyone raved about how good it was. I have used it since changing out the soups and using cream of asparagus, celery, whatever is on hand. I used cut up chicken breasts so it was easier to serve. I have also added canned or leftover vegetables to the mix. It's a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJUNKIN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Guin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I wish I could give this no stars or negative stars. No amount of soy sauce, onion, celery, garlic, water chestnuts or anything else will save this terrible recipe. (I added all of the above after reading the reviews.) It is very nearly inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Every casserole doesn't need to be rated five stars to be worthwhile. I'm giving this recipe 3 stars though I'd go with 3 1/2 if 1/2 star increments were allowed. It's very convenient and tastes pretty good. I didn't have enough cashews, so in keeping with the Chinese cooking theme, I topped the casserole with chow mein noodles, which I had left over from another recipe. It worked great! I also added a couple cloves of garlic. In the future, I may consider adding a little onion, celery, and water chestnuts. This recipe came out slightly dry. As another reviwer recommends, consider adding another 1/2 cup of chicken broth. Because it's so easy and taste better than average, I will likely prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I don't like dark chicken meat, so I used all white chicken breasts, which I precooked in a bit of butter, I also added some garlic and lawry's seasoning salt. I put in a 4oz can of sliced mushrooms also, and added about a 1/2 cup more cashews. I also covered the casserole with foil while baking, I only baked it 20 minutes. it was good. but it makes 9 servings, not 4 like the recipe said when I printed it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Took much longer than 2o-25 minutes to cook chicken. rice and nuts then were burnt. i wouldnt make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States