Cashew Avocado Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
The texture and taste was fantastic. I used canned chicken breasts and found the recipe to be terrific. After an initial taste of the original recipe, I added a finely diced stalk of celery and one green onion (so as to not overpower the dill). A slice of lettuce gave it real sandwich appeal. The recipe's inclusion of avacado was simply genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I let it sit in the fridge overnight and the cashwes became mushy. Next time I will put them in before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Wonderful!! I didn't have any bacon cooked or avocado on hand, but it was still very good. The dill really adds flavor. Am really looking forward to making it with the bacon and avocado!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I have made this many times for as few as two and as many as 20 people. Everyone just loves it. The salad has such a great taste I don't normally bother with the cheese or bacon. I usually end up adding some more dressing - I just start with what it says in the recipe and add until it's how moist I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This was frikkin' fantastic. My husband has really middle-brow taste in food, hates avocados (and gee, nearly everything else...) and he actually liked it. I didn't add any dill, because I forgot it at the grocery store, and I would advise against using overly ripe avocados because they tend to mush up into the dressing a bit too much. I have no idea why other reviiews claimed this was dry, because it was just about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I liked this very much. I increased the ranch dressing a little, and used basil instead of dill as my supermarket was out of dill. I didn't find it dry at all, I thought the consistancy was ideal for sandwiches. And although it's on day two now the avocado hasn't started to brown, maybe the other ingredients are preserving it somehow. Two thumbs up from my fussy husband too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
that was really good and interesting.i added parsley instead of dill and didn't use any bacon(because i couldn't wait to taste it).everybody loved it.thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
I wasn't fond of this. It was very dry, so I kept adding ranch dressing, to get it to a good consistency. I didn't have the bacon (darn husband, using it and not adding it to the grocery list), and my swiss cheese had mold on it, so maybe with those two items were the "key" items... Noneteheless, I don't think I will be making this again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
delicious!!! I use a bacon ranch dressing instead of adding all the extra fat from slices of bacon. I think i've made this 3 times this week for lunch. First time I made it, I mixed it all at night and ate the next day, but the avocado will start to brown so the next time I made it, I mixed the chicken with the bacon ranch dressing, added dill and brought a container of cashews and a half avocado (add lime on it and it wont brown). When Im ready for lunch I add the cashews and avocado, mix and its perfect!! great meal. Lower in carbs, high in proteins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Really didn't like this recipe at all. The ranch was way overpowering, and the ranch dill combo didn't mix. Like others mentioned was also very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States