Casablanca Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This dish was a pleasant surprise. I substituted the garbanzos with great northern beans, and it was scrumptious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very good, But very very sweet. if its too sweet add jalapeno peppers and cut some of the brown sugar and its a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We make this with Boca brand soy crumbles instead of meat. I also made a homemade mango chutney (from this site, I believe) to go with it. This is one of a few recipes that my omnivore husband and my vegetarian self can both enjoy (made with the soy of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoxie1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very .... Twangy. If you have a real sweet tooth and want to try something different, go for it. I followed the recipe to the letter and found it unpalatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
WOW what a great dish!!! I was a little worried about how the flavors would blend .... and especially since my fiancée is a PICKY eater! But..SHOCK... he loved it!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I just cooked this recipe. This turned out very goos and flavorful. I didn't have peanut butter so I used Thia peanut sauce instead. Also I am a Chaldean American so there always is some pickled spicy mango in the fridge instead of mango chutney. I didn't have a lot so I also added in some dried chopped apricots. I didn't add the raisins, my hubby and daughter don't like. I would definetley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It's not your typical chili but very satisfyting and just plain fun! A great way to use up leftover Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
A hit with us! I think it was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We were looking for an original chili to enter into a work competition and is becoming a favorite meal. Dont be afraid to spice it up - we added chili powder (1tsp) and some diced potatoes. The ingredients go so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Yum! This got two thumbs up last night!I did make a couple changes - first off, my hubby is allergic to peanuts (peanut butter, peanut oil, etc)so I substituted cashew butter. Also sauteed 1/2 small onion, diced, before adding the other ingredients (next time might add a clove of garlic, minced, too);finally, I used 2 cans of garbanzos, because I didn't have the chile beans. This is a keeper - as others have said, don't be scared off by the ingredient list - it all comes together beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States