Casablanca Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
What an interesting lineup of ingredients, just had to try it! Followed the recipe to the letter except for cutting the brown sugar in half, and giving an orange wedge a good squeeze into the chili pot. Just when you think this may be too sweet, the tomatoes with green chili peppers give you a spicy smack in the mouth. This may not be for everybody, but it was enjoyed in this house. Served with toasted pita bread wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This dish was a pleasant surprise. I substituted the garbanzos with great northern beans, and it was scrumptious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very good, But very very sweet. if its too sweet add jalapeno peppers and cut some of the brown sugar and its a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We make this with Boca brand soy crumbles instead of meat. I also made a homemade mango chutney (from this site, I believe) to go with it. This is one of a few recipes that my omnivore husband and my vegetarian self can both enjoy (made with the soy of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoxie1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very .... Twangy. If you have a real sweet tooth and want to try something different, go for it. I followed the recipe to the letter and found it unpalatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
WOW what a great dish!!! I was a little worried about how the flavors would blend .... and especially since my fiancée is a PICKY eater! But..SHOCK... he loved it!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I just cooked this recipe. This turned out very goos and flavorful. I didn't have peanut butter so I used Thia peanut sauce instead. Also I am a Chaldean American so there always is some pickled spicy mango in the fridge instead of mango chutney. I didn't have a lot so I also added in some dried chopped apricots. I didn't add the raisins, my hubby and daughter don't like. I would definetley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It's not your typical chili but very satisfyting and just plain fun! A great way to use up leftover Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
A hit with us! I think it was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We were looking for an original chili to enter into a work competition and is becoming a favorite meal. Dont be afraid to spice it up - we added chili powder (1tsp) and some diced potatoes. The ingredients go so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States