Casablanca Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I tried this recipe on a whim - it was too weird to pass up! I really thought I had a "let's order pizza" recipe when it was cooking, but the taste is AWESOME! My husband says I have to make it again (I might try the chicken next time) and even my 18-month old liked it (although it's a bit spicy). Reheating leftovers at work resulted in a bunch of people asking for the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2000
This was delicious! My husband raved about it, too. The flavors were unusual and the sweetness was a nice change from the ordinary. The hardest part was cutting up all the ham. What a chore it was to cut it from the bone, trying to leave all the fat behind! It was worth the effort, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
An unusual "chili" with a marvelous and different taste. We served it with a rice/onion pilaf that was a perfect accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is a definite winner in our family. I try many receipes, and I either keep them or toss them. This was a keeper! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
With ingredients like these I had to try it - and have been raving about it ever since. The most unique flavor that is very impressive wherever you take it. Great flavor and surprising heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
The Staff at HolidayRecipe has corrected this recipe to include the proper amount of diced tomatoes with green chiles. Thanks for the tip, S.E.! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This sounded odd until I tried it. Made with Thanksgiving leftover turkey, it was delicious and rich but not overly sweet or spicy. I deleted the peppers, but may include them next time. It is very easy and fool-proof. Making it with ham, the recipe's first suggestion, would be good, too, because of the spices and sugar in the recipe. Good for using ingredients on hand from the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
This was something different and really good. The mango chutney added a nice kick, although I didn't use the whole amount. The recipe didn't say how much diced tomatoes and chilies to use. I put in a pound can of diced tomatoes and a small can of diced chilies because that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was really yummy. I made it when my mother was here--I was sure she wouldn't like it--I mean, mango chutney? But I had to use up leftover turkey, and I had the ingredients on hand. We all loved it! (even my 4 yo) Mom begged for the recipe. We ommitted the peppers (didn't have them in the cupboard) and served it over rice--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I love this recipe. It is a very different take on chili. Every time I have leftover ham, I make a big pot. Don't let the ingredients fool you, it is a perfect combination of sweet and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States