Casablanca Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Three things I like about this recipe - it's VERY quick and easy to make, it's unique, and I love the sweet and spicy combo. Great way to use up leftover Easter ham. (okay, that's 4) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The balance of sweet and spicy was great. My husband preferred it to be a little more spicy, said it was too sweet, so I cut back on the mango chutney (only kind in our store was a sweet and spicy mix-so it made the dish a little sweeter and brown sugar some and he enjoyed it better. But try it first the way the recipe calls for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I got good reviews on this dish last night. It was extremely easy to make perfect for a busy weeknight. I was suprised that my guest could not identify any of the "odd ball" ingredients- especially the peanut butter. None of them are over powering and they blend nicely into an interesting flavor. I went light on the allspice since the ham had been roasted with cloves, skipped the chick peas and doubled the chili beans, added a touch of cumin and it was very good. Its not something I would go out of my way to make, but when you've roasted a 12 lb ham and you're sick of eating it plain, this is a great way to add some pizzaz and come up with a completely new flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
We love to try new chili recipes, and this was great! I didn't use raisins (don't like) and used an apple/pineapple chutney I had leftover from another recipe. Put it in the slow cooker for about 5 hours. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This recipe is so good it won second place in my work's chili contest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This is the BEST recipe for leftover ham. The combination of ingredients sounds weird but it is awesome! Thanks for a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
What a delicious, easy recipe! I didn't have mango chutney, so I added mango preserves, diced jalepenos, a little habanero sauce, and about 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Thank you for this "keeper". By the way, my kids (2 and 3) love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I made this the other day but with a few additions and changes, I used dark red kidney beans instead of the beans and spicy sauce and I added a 1/2 cup of chopped dark chocolate at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I won a chili cook off at my work with this recipe! It's unique, tasty, and easy to make. You can add habaneros to spice it up or replace the meat with cubes or extra firm tofu for a vegetarian version and it still tastes great. I always make a double batch and it never lasts long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Maine, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
What a unique, flavorful alternative to traditional chili! My husband and I loved the dish. It really hit the spot on a cold, December afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States