Casa Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Holy salt lick! Was this ever salty!!!!! I have to disagree with other reviewers' comments claiming this tastes like a Mexican restaurant's house dressing or those little dressing packets sold with Southwestern salad kits. It doesn't. Not one bit. And the salt wasn't the only issue I had with this.... The cumin is overpowering and the cilantro taste is pretty much nonexistent unless you triple or quadruple it. All said and done, this was a total miss for me. My search for a dressing to complement Mexican meals must continue because this certainly isn't it. Thanks anyways, Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I thought this recipe was lacking some oomph. I added some chili powder, coriander and jalapenos which gave it a nice flavor. I also did 1/3 cup low-fat mayo and 1/3 cup non-fat plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
It was great to find this recipe! We love salads with almost every meal and I'd just whip some sour cream, taco seasoning and salsa when I made Mexican. This is a real keeper - it tastes good with nacho chips, too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very nice change from a creamy dill, mild "taco" flavor -. I used only 1/2 tablespoon of the cumin and it was plenty flavorful. Also used only half the cilantro and zipped it in with the dressing with food processor. We topped this dressing on a dark green salad with kidney beans, tomato, avocado,green onions and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. Kids gobbled it up and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This dressing is the BEST it can get. You really should make it a day ahead to let the flavors meld together. Great on salads, with chips or even as a sandwich topper! My wifes loves it that way! Dip hot pepperoni rolls in it. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Perfect for fajita salad. My son cannot have dairy so I used a little almond milk instead. I was happy to find a dressing that didn't have sugar in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Good, I added more cilantro, cumin and some cayenne pepper. I used the tube of chopped cilantro they sell at the store instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Instead of mayonnaise, I used fat-free sour cream and I used fat free milk. I also only used a pinch of salt, as I'm watching my salt intake as well as my calorie intake. This was very good, though I did add more chopped cilantro after giving it a taste, as well as a clove of minced garlic. Next time, I'll add chopped jalapeno peppers as it seemed to be missing a little heat. It was even better the next day, so I say make it the day before you need it and serve it the next day. GREAT on breakfast burritos and any sort of mexican dish you make at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I love this dressing/dip. I added chopped jalepenos and dipped with whole grain tostitos. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was pretty tasty, but I have to admit that I ended up changing it a bit. I made it first as written, but it seemed really salty. It was okay, but the second time I tried using sour cream instead of mayo. This time it seemed like something was missing. Next time I will make it with mayo, but no salt. Otherwise it was really good and was also good with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States