Caryn's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Not bad, but the flavors didn't seem to mix well. Maybe if I marinated the chicken first, it would have turned out better. Interesting, but not something I will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I read the reviews and used a vidalia onion and 2 1/2c orange juice (instead of the green onion and juiced oranges). Neither my husband, nor I, liked this. The flavors didn't blend. The chicken wasn't tender. Overall, the flavor was strange. Sorry, but I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
No stars is more appropriate. This recipe is horrible. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
The chicken was OK but surprisingly bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This is a really tasty preparation method. I've tried a variation of this which includes poaching in O.J. Then remove chicken and make a sauce out of the juice, some balsamic vinegar, orange rind and a little fresh tarragon. Slice chicken breasts into 2" slices and place back into the sauce. The balsamic vinegar and herb add an interesting depth to the recipe. Wonderful and low calorie, too. You can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I tried this recipe ONLY because of the rave revues given by others. The thought of orange juice and onions really sounded kind of "sickening" to me but I figured I must be MISSING something since everyone else seemed to love it. I did add a pinch of ginger to the orange juice and let the liquids reduce with a tsp of margerine. Served this over brown rice and it was really really good!!! I don't know if I would make it every week, but for a change of pace once in awhile it is sure worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I marinated the chicken over night in the orange juice (I just used regular orange juice which I had on hand). I also put a chopped garlic clove and I used a red onion (I didn't have any green onions). My wife and I gobbled this up... There were no left overs. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Chicken, onions and orange juice?!?!? You would never think this would be good, but it truly is delicious. I used 2 1/2 C. Tropicana orange juice and a medium Vidalia onion. I served it over rice to make it more of a meal. FANTASTIC! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Delicious! So simple but so tasty. It took 30 minutes to cook though not 10. I also used a regular onion as opposed to the green onion. I served this with mashed turnips. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
My whole family liked this one. I did add a little sugar to the orange juice to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States