Carry Cake with Strawberries and Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I do not recommend this as a substitute for strawberry shortcake as it is too heavy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
EXXXXcellent!! I also hate people who give negative reviews. To the person who gave 1 star because it was "way too rich"; did you READ the ingredients? Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Definitely on the heavy side but quite ok too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe as directed and I have never tasted something like this in my life, we opted to take off the whiped cream and starwberries and just ate that. I was disappointed with this recipe the cake was dry and had a very funky taste to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I have to agree with many of the previous reviews; the cake not only is too heavy but also recommended 50 min bake time is way too long. This cake almost may be better with a yellow box cake mix instead and having the strawberries sliced and not just halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this cake for my friend's birthday. Everyone LOVED it...I doubled the recipe and made a 4 layer cake using 9" round pans. I cut way back on the sugar (don't know exact amount I used..just did it by taste). The only problem I had was, although I used 4 dowels to hold it upright, the cake ended up looking like the Leaning Tower of Piza. The frosting just wasn't sturdy enough. No one cared though. It was a good chuckle and a yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe! I ended up baking it in a rectangle pan and just cutting the cake into three pieces but my friends couldn't stop raving about this cake and truly enjoyed it. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that you don't need as much sugar in the actual icing because the cake itself it so sweet with the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made this cake for my daughter-in-law for her birthday. It was easy to make and absolutely delicous. She raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prell2k4
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I was not impressed at all, total waste of money, ingredients and time. The cake was very sweet and the topping never formed. I ended up throwing this out. I am in search of the perfect strawberry shortcake and this is far from it. It may taste ok with a chocolate frosting, but nothing that is to sweet as the cake is sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My family loved this cake and it has been requested for our families 4th of July cookout. The only thing I changes was that I took another quart of straberries and I sprinkled them with sugar and then after sitting for awhile I smashed them. I put the halved berries around the edges of the layers and the some of the smashed berries in the middle. Some of the juice soaked into the cake and make it quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States