Carrots with Dried Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I'm always looking for a simple side dish that is also full flavored. This dish met all the criteria since it was both quick and tasty. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I love carrots, but I thought this would be a nice change from the ordinary. I used Craisins instead of dried cherries, but I still found this dish too sweet. I think next time I'll cut back on the amount of honey. Though I agree, for the carrot haters, I think this dish would appeal to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I tried this recipe before Christmas to see if I wanted to serve it with Christmas dinner. The carrots and flavor were delicious, but the dried cherries I bought turned out to be stale with a strange flavor. Ruined the dish. What a disappointment. No reflection on the recipe. Unfortunately good dried cherries are hard to find in small southern towns. The prepackaged ones have too much artificial junk in them and are too sweet. I bought enough to make this dish for Christmas and, sadly, had to throw them away. I hope to find some great cherries and try again. Anyone have any suggestions on how to be sure dried cherries are not too old? Thanks. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawkinsville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Brevard, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This turned out fine, and it was certainly a breeze to make. The combination of carrots, honey and cherries was a winner. Next time I'll be adding a little more honey and coarsely chopping the cherries so that every bite is packed with flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memomo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I like carrots, but this was altogether too sweet for me. Ah, well. I may try to make it again without the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Rave reviews when taking this to the pot luck, and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie and andy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Normally I don't like carrots, in any form, and my husband only likes them raw. Not cooked. So we very rarely have carrots in the house, because he is the only one who eats them. That is changing with this recipe. I am eating these as I write this--I might have to make a second batch for him when he gets home. Thanks for a great recipe!! I made it like written, came out great. I forgot, I subbed cranberries as I did not have cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I haven't been eating my veggies lately. Tried this recipe, very good. Used craisins and didn't have honey so used brown sugar. Yum. Also, I don't like cooked veggies so much so I just melted the butter and sugar, added the craisins. I let that cook into a sauce and just tossed the baby carrots in the sauce. Not sickening sweet at all, nice compliment to the carrots. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States