Carrots with Dried Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great recipe, but decrease the butter AND use a strong-tasting honey. Got lots of positive comments and requests for the recipe. Start with: Good-tasting carrots. (usually large organic...baby carrots ok, too, just more casual.); Alfalfa or buckwheat honey (you'll never go back to clover or wildflower honey); Michigan cherries, craisins and cranberries are all good. Prefer no sugar or other chemicals added. (Carrots are sweet enough; just want the cherry taste.) This recipe is for about a pound of carrots. I cut the large carrots into 2" slices then sliced them into quarters. If the carrot is really big, into six slices. They end up like mouth-size carrot sticks. Two pounds can be prepared in 10 minutes. The less butter the better. (we hardly ever use it) The recipe "as is" feels like I'm eating butter. So at least half it. The stronger-tasting honey is more for flavor than sweetener. We LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! my kids and husband even loved it! Will definitely make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These were really enjoyable for a holiday side dish! Too buttery to be an everyday thing, but everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Really good! I used frozen cherries (less sugar and cheaper than dried.) I sliced the frozen cherries into 2 or 4 pieces and added them just like the recipe says. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I'm not typically a fan of cooked carrots but I wanted to find a side dish that I might enjoy and could attempt to get my 4 year old picky eater to taste. This was great. I loved it and my picky girl at them up! I did however modify the recipe a bit. We're not fans of dried cherries and they're very expensive. But we love craisins and my daughter eats them often so I used those instead. Perfect substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyRawson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These are terrific. I used craisins and baby carrots to make this. Otherwise followed the recip exactly. this is a real keeper that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
A nice combination of flavors. I just used baby carrots, opening the bag and pouring them right in the pot to steam. Easy and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Easy and so good. got lots of compliments. Used baby carrots and dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
SO easy and really good. We like carrots and did not think it was too sweet. Only change I made was to use cranberries instead of cherries because it's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
fabulous,a keeper thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States