Carrots with Dried Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was a pleasant surprise - I'd never bought dried cherries, but they turned out to be readily available at my grocery store. I was a little skeptical of this dish, picturing carrots with Bing or Maraschino cherries, but that wasn't the case at all. The dried cherries of course turned out to look a lot like raisins, and the combination with the carrots was very nice. The honey/butter sauce just made it even better. I made this exactly as written, but should note that melting the butter over medium heat quickly started to brown the butter, so I immediately turned the heat down. For a fairly simple side dish, this has a fancy look, and rich taste. Definitely worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Wonderful!! Everyone I have served loves these and asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I confess I could not find dried cherries and use maraschino cherries thats why my pic i posted looks a little different, but they turned out delicious and are probly even sweeter!! good holiday addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyInVa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving. Was a real hit. I used dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight for a gathering of about 20 people. I quadrupled the recipe; used thawed frozen carrots and canned sweet dark cherries. It got rave reviews. Personally, if I could eat nuts (allergic), adding pecan halves would've been perfect. Next time, I might put some on the side for others to enjoy. Let's face it. . .put butter and honey on almost anything and it's yummy, right? Great recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I'm not a big fan of honey so I used margarine and lite maple syrup and it was delicious! I make it often because it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very good...very easy...took the amount of cooking time the recipe said....I never would have thought of putting dried cherries with carrots, but it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Excellent modified! Like another reviewer, I did't have honey on hand so I used brown sugar. These were delicious. I would have never thought to combine these ingredients and my whole family ate them FIRST! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We love carrots and used a nice local honey along with organic carrots, but this combo didn't work for us. The honey/butter sauce on the carrots was tasty but the cherries did not go with it for us. The sauce itself (cherries, honey, butter) was good by itself on spicy baked chicken. Very easy to prepare though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great recipe, but decrease the butter AND use a strong-tasting honey. Got lots of positive comments and requests for the recipe. Start with: Good-tasting carrots. (usually large organic...baby carrots ok, too, just more casual.); Alfalfa or buckwheat honey (you'll never go back to clover or wildflower honey); Michigan cherries, craisins and cranberries are all good. Prefer no sugar or other chemicals added. (Carrots are sweet enough; just want the cherry taste.) This recipe is for about a pound of carrots. I cut the large carrots into 2" slices then sliced them into quarters. If the carrot is really big, into six slices. They end up like mouth-size carrot sticks. Two pounds can be prepared in 10 minutes. The less butter the better. (we hardly ever use it) The recipe "as is" feels like I'm eating butter. So at least half it. The stronger-tasting honey is more for flavor than sweetener. We LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States