Carrots and Onions Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was very good! The kids and adults loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I was very disappointed with this recipe. It wasn't very good, it had no taste. Thanks for your effort though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This came together easily. This appealed to me because I usually have these ingredients on hand and I'm always looking for a new way to serve veggies. I added a bit more cheese and used sharp white cheddar. I also added a couple shakes of Frank's Hot Sauce. If you aren't big on crumb toppings, you might want to cut it in half. I'll update on how we all liked it after dinner. (If I make this again, I might add a half cup of cauliflower puree for more veggies and fiber.)EDITED: I liked this, the rest of my family didn't. Too bad, it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was really good. I think more margarine is needed for the bread crumb mixture, but other than that, it was good. I didn't boil the onions and didn't need to and I also used cut up carrots and only boiled them a couple minutes. They were still firm and not soggy when they came out of the oven. My husband ate A LOT of this! He really liked it and so did I. My 5 year old didn't because of the onions, but you can't please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good. Sauce could have been made thinner and carrots cooked a bit longer. I'll try these couple things next time I make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is very good. I did change a few things. I boiled the carrots and onions in chicken broth and I used Parmesan Cheese instead of Cheddar because that was what I had. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was a surprising recipe. I was a bit skeptical but have to admit it was delicious. This was a definite hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
It was a recipe that we will not repeat. It was a very plain uninteresting in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was very easy to make and everyone seemed to enjoy it. I used a sweet onion, added a little more cheese than it called for & used Parmesan flavored bread crumbs. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This had a great flavor, but the sauce seemed too thick. It was almost a paste, and it just stayed on top of the carrots and onions. I made this for my husband and another couple, and we all agreed that it tasted great. I think next time I'll add an extra 1/2 cup of milk or reduce the flour and butter to 2 tablespoons each. Thanks for sharing a new vegetable dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States