Carrots ala Camille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
This dish is great- simple to make and very tasty. I tested this recipe with about 1/2 pound of carrots, 1 tbsp of syrup and 1 tbsp of butter. It was great. Then I prepared the dish with the quantities listed and it was a lot less flavorful. I recommend doubling the amount of syrup and butter for a 2 lb bag of carrots. I also added pecans, which gave it a little twist of additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I liked the flavor, however, I made a couple modifications that made these carrots awesome. First, I roasted them with olive oil and salt at 375 for about 20 minutes, stirred and then turned the temp up on the oven to 425 for another ten minutes or so, or until tender. I then heated about two tablespoons of butter in a skillet on med high heat and added the carrots as well as two to three tablespoons of maple syrup. I let it bubble a little bit, stirring frequently, and the butter and syrup carmelized together, forming a very tasty, carmel. I served immediately. They were great like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I tried this recipe thinking that the maple syrup would really spruce up the basic sweetened carrots that I have been making for years. It did not. Aside from the amounts listed not being enough maple syrup and butter, the texture of the sauce was quite runny compared to the way I make it and also more expensive to make. I use butter or margarine along with either light or brown sugar with my carrots and they are so much better and also less expensive to make. I then add parsley to them primarily to dress them up and make them more appetizing to look at. I will continue to make what I call "candied carrots" using my method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This recipe was disappointing. There just wasn't much maple flavor. The carrots tasted like carrots and not like they had anything on them. Sorry, I doubt that we will be having them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
Great recipe! I used Log Cabin syrup. Also, increased amount of syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
I, too, doubled the maple syrup and butter and added pecans. Very delicious and easy! Is already a family favorite for us. Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Good simple recipe. Adds a little sweetness to the carrots without overpowering them. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I made this when we had company and I didn't want to serve plain carrots. The amount of syrup and butter was just right to give a unique taste while still letting the flavor of the carrots come through. Everyone loved them...there were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Easy. It was nice to have just a hint of taste, not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was very plain tasting. I tried adding more syrup like others suggested, but i found that the recipe was just too simple and tastes like it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States