Carrots Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Delicious! Only change I made was instead of processed cheese I used parmesan cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I am a carrot lover but carrots au gratin did seem a little odd to me and it was. however, the sauce was wonderful and I think this would be great made with a mix of vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower AND carrots. the sautéed onions give it a great flavor - don't leave them out! I increased the amount of black pepper to ½ tsp, and added ½ tsp of garlic powder and ¼ tsp of cayenne pepper to the sauce. I will definitely make this again with other veggies because the sauce was that good! thank you grammyrose, as I am a novice and this was my first cheese sauce made from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jlspinks08
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This recipe was more than I could have ever anticipated. I needed something to get rid of a bag of carrots i had in my fridge and i stumbled upon this. I made it and have never tasted anything like it. We had this with chicken and my hubby almost forgot the chicken was on the plate because he was so into this delicious dish! I USED SALTINE CRACKERS AND SHREDDED CHEDDAR CHEESE, STILL CAME OUT GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlspinks08

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Cut the recipe in half (note that qty in directions do not get altered). Very good. Two of us ate almost the whole casserole. It is a nice change from green veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very good and unique tasting carrot dish. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very good casserole! The only change I think I will make if I make it again is to cook the carrots until they are a bit more tender. I know it's not as healthy, but I like them better that way : ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Made this last night as an attempt to use some of the 5 lb bag of carrots in the fridge. There were only 3 of us, so I only used about half as many carrots as this recipe used, then just eyeballed the rest (but honestly, kept them at mostly these measurements - it was really creamy). Didn't have any ritz-like crackers, though, so subbed whole-wheat saltines. Also realized as it was time to add it in, that I didn't have any milk. Ended up subbing chicken broth and 2-3 tablespoons of sour cream. Delicious, if really unhealthy, way to eat your carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Delicious. Be careful not to overcook the carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and got mixed reviews. I enjoyed it, and several others told me they liked it, but I didn't make a whole lot and had plenty leftover. I gave it 3 because it wasn't bad, but it wasn't the big hit I had hoped it would be. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wanted to see if my brother-in-law would try carrots made this was as he usually refers to them as dirt sticks. He did try them, of course still not his preferred vegetable of choice. I did use unsalted butter instead of margarine, omitted the 1/2 tsp of salt (as I felt the cheese added enough sodium to the mix) and used 1/2 extra sharp cheddar and 1/2 American cheese (as I didn't have enough American cheese for the full 2/3 cup). Next time I might do as others have suggested which is add a sprinkle of garlic powder and a dash of hot sauce. Thank you GrammyRose for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States