Carrots Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was fine. We ate them all. Nice to have a different way to fix carrots. However, I didn't think outcome was worth the trouble of fixing this on a weeknight...and we like other side dishes a lot more for special occasions. So, I might make this again. But not anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I have never liked carrots since being forced to eat them as a child...my husband loves carrots and mentioned that he missed having them served since we got married and I don't normally cook what I don't like. I tried this recipe and my husband is a happy camper...and even I like it. I will make this recipe often to satisfy his taster and encourage others to try it...it's nice to find a side dish that's not "worn out". Thanks a bunch for this one...and I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Loved it! My whole family enjoyed this one and it was not difficult to make. My mother asked for the recipe, which never happens. Thanks for sharing., Loved it! My whole family enjoyed this one and it was not difficult to make. My mother asked for the recipe, which never happens. Thanks for sharing., Loved it! My whole family enjoyed this one and it was not difficult to make. My mother asked for the recipe, which never happens. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
These were okay. A different way to fix carrots. If I try them again, I think I will use cream of celery soup and sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I don't like carrots but this recipe was quite good. (kind of like a baked macaroni and cheese but with carrots instead of pasta) I think next time I'll try it with broccoli or cauliflower. I didn't add the onions and used crushed croutons instead of the crackers. Also I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt and light old cheddar instead of the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I loved this recipe! My husband hates carrots and he loved them too. He had a weird childhood food alergies and could only ear carrots and bananas for 2 years. When I said I made carrots he said no way he would eat them. Everytime I make these someone asks for the recipe. I often substite croutons for the crackers. I am always out of crackers...ha,ha. Love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This is an excellent way to prepare carrots. I added two ingredients to the sauce that I normally add to my own cheese sauce: a scoop of spreadable cream cheese (to make is a little more creamy) and a dash or two of cayenne pepper for a little zing. I loved the addition of the onions to the sauce. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!! I use this site ALL the time to help me when I am in a pinch and have no plan. The only recipe that has come out better than this is that of Amy Miagaza "Amy's Garlic Egg Chicken" on this site. (For those of you who haven't tried that one--it, too, is FABULOUS!) This was the BEST cassarole! It was easy and different and wonderful! I will be adding this to my "holiday staples" even though I will be forced to have a few times more (at least) during the year, too. ;) Not only did I learn how to make this particular scrumptious dish, the instructions were so clear that, for the first time, I understand the basics of making a "milk gravy" AND a "cheese sauce"! YeeeeeHawww, Sharon! You should consider writing a recipe tutorial book. You explained the process succinctly and perfectly. Kuddos to you! And thanks so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
What a wonderful recipe!! It adds some variety to your veggie side dish! I cut the recipe in half and tweeked it a little to accomodate my family and it was magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This is a great recipe, even my picky eater son loved it! A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States