Carrot and Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Perfect carrot cake in every way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Delicious! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRob86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! I made this for the first time yesterday for Easter dinner and it was superb! Not too sweet (which was perfect after a meat-filled main course) with lovely flavours. I made cream cheese and bourbon frosting (from this site) and drizzled it over the top. I also added some ginger to the cake mix. Everyone wanted some to take home! And it was a perfect little breakfast indulgence with a cup of coffee this morning, too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is a European style cake. It's quite dry and not particularly sweet, but frosting helps with the extra sweetness. I will probably not make this one again because I like my cakes more moist, but it's a great recipe if you're looking for a European style cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This wasn't the best carrot cake I've ever had. It was sort of dry. It wasn't very flavorful. It needed to be a bit sweeter. Tweaking it with some more sugar and maybe some more oil might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICKLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melowdie
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Ever since I was little carrot cake has always been my favourite and there was a certain cafe I'd go to up until I moved to Germany and for 3 years I've searched for a carrot cake recipe like there's and I have to say this not only is the recipe I have been looking for but it is much much better than theres :D What impressed me even more was that my horrified fiance who couldn't believe his eyes when he saw me putting carrots in a cake and was adiment that I had just ruined a perfectly good cake mixture ate 1 whole of these cakes to himself. I think I'll half the mixture next time though as I got two beautiful cakes out of this in 10 inch pans. Also I iced it with the cream cheese frosting recipe I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melowdie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Absolutely gorgeous! I just followed the recipe exactly, except added a little bit of clove. Perfect if you're a beginner like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The cake turned out really great!We loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Kids love these! Walnuts or Not, Freezer or not they won't last long with kids around! CS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States