Carrot and Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Perfect carrot cake in every way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Delicious! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRob86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! I made this for the first time yesterday for Easter dinner and it was superb! Not too sweet (which was perfect after a meat-filled main course) with lovely flavours. I made cream cheese and bourbon frosting (from this site) and drizzled it over the top. I also added some ginger to the cake mix. Everyone wanted some to take home! And it was a perfect little breakfast indulgence with a cup of coffee this morning, too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is a European style cake. It's quite dry and not particularly sweet, but frosting helps with the extra sweetness. I will probably not make this one again because I like my cakes more moist, but it's a great recipe if you're looking for a European style cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This wasn't the best carrot cake I've ever had. It was sort of dry. It wasn't very flavorful. It needed to be a bit sweeter. Tweaking it with some more sugar and maybe some more oil might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICKLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melowdie
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Ever since I was little carrot cake has always been my favourite and there was a certain cafe I'd go to up until I moved to Germany and for 3 years I've searched for a carrot cake recipe like there's and I have to say this not only is the recipe I have been looking for but it is much much better than theres :D What impressed me even more was that my horrified fiance who couldn't believe his eyes when he saw me putting carrots in a cake and was adiment that I had just ruined a perfectly good cake mixture ate 1 whole of these cakes to himself. I think I'll half the mixture next time though as I got two beautiful cakes out of this in 10 inch pans. Also I iced it with the cream cheese frosting recipe I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melowdie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Absolutely gorgeous! I just followed the recipe exactly, except added a little bit of clove. Perfect if you're a beginner like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The cake turned out really great!We loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Kids love these! Walnuts or Not, Freezer or not they won't last long with kids around! CS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States