Carrot and Raisin Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I haven't made this salad in a long time and I was looking for a refresher just to make sure I wasn't forgetting something. I like the Mayo / sour cream combo instead of straight mayo. I was going to skip the brown sugar but I accidentally added too much salt, so the brown sugar level that right out. A good old fashioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Love this recipe..so easy. It's full flavor develops overnight. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I really enjoyed this very much as a side for pork chops tonight. I did sub cranberries for the raisins just because I don't care for raisins. I think next time I make this I'm going to sub pineapple greek yogurt for the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Near Perfect just as written! I followed the recipe except for substituting lime for the lemon juice and adding 1 tablespoon each of sunflower seeds, dry roasted peanuts and soy nuts. Wow was this good atop a large garden salad for a lighter dinner. Thanks for sharing Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this on the spur of the moment, and to be honest, I didn't carefully measure the ingredients. I borrowed from another recipe the idea of a squirt of orange juice, and I might have gone a little light on the brown sugar. I didn't find it too sweet, possibly because I used more lemon juice than the recipe calls for. I thought the taste was quite good, as did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was a hit with a few changes. At first I wasn't sure about the sour cream but it does add another layer of flavor. Also used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of the brown sugar + I added some chopped pecans. Sweet and crunchy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My hubby says it is good, so I am giving it 4 stars. I didn't like it because I don't like raw carrots or raisons so I won't factor my opinion into this rating, that would probably be unfair to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Good starter recipe. However, I found that I needed a lot more dressing, and a lot more sweetener. Since I used Splenda, the latter was not an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I knew this would be a bit sweeter that we like so I reduced the sugar to half a teaspoon and the raisins to 3/4 cup. I definitely recommend less sour cream (2 Tblsns.) also so it is not so soggy and fattening. With these changes it worked well as a side dish for BBQ chicken & baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
It's nice to have this salad for a change. Simple to make yet very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States