Carrot and Raisin Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I really enjoyed this very much as a side for pork chops tonight. I did sub cranberries for the raisins just because I don't care for raisins. I think next time I make this I'm going to sub pineapple greek yogurt for the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Near Perfect just as written! I followed the recipe except for substituting lime for the lemon juice and adding 1 tablespoon each of sunflower seeds, dry roasted peanuts and soy nuts. Wow was this good atop a large garden salad for a lighter dinner. Thanks for sharing Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this on the spur of the moment, and to be honest, I didn't carefully measure the ingredients. I borrowed from another recipe the idea of a squirt of orange juice, and I might have gone a little light on the brown sugar. I didn't find it too sweet, possibly because I used more lemon juice than the recipe calls for. I thought the taste was quite good, as did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was a hit with a few changes. At first I wasn't sure about the sour cream but it does add another layer of flavor. Also used 2 tablespoons of honey instead of the brown sugar + I added some chopped pecans. Sweet and crunchy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My hubby says it is good, so I am giving it 4 stars. I didn't like it because I don't like raw carrots or raisons so I won't factor my opinion into this rating, that would probably be unfair to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Good starter recipe. However, I found that I needed a lot more dressing, and a lot more sweetener. Since I used Splenda, the latter was not an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I knew this would be a bit sweeter that we like so I reduced the sugar to half a teaspoon and the raisins to 3/4 cup. I definitely recommend less sour cream (2 Tblsns.) also so it is not so soggy and fattening. With these changes it worked well as a side dish for BBQ chicken & baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
It's nice to have this salad for a change. Simple to make yet very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The dressing tasted like fruit salad dressing to my family. I used light mayo and light sour cream. I thought the addition of fruit was really needed so I chopped an apple and added that. Good, but pineapple would have been better. I think I will use this dressing again but play with the other ingredients to find that just right balance of flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Linda, thanx for sharing this delicious recipe! I followed the ingredient/directions as posted w/two exceptions ... because I was taking it to a party and knowing our daughter doesn't like raisins I substituted the raisins for Craisins. Plus I followed the advise of of others and included a small can of crushed pineapple. Commenting on other posts regarding sugar ... I think the original recipe is great w/sugar. CERTAINLY make this salad a day ahead so the flavors can 'marry'. This is a 4+ Carrot recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States