Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I've had carrot ginger soup at restaurants and often wanted to make my own. This recipe is excellent - exactly as I had hoped it would be. It's clean and simple, comfort food at its best. As for the long prep time, it's really worth it, and it's no more onerous than most soups are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
very good! To use what I had on hand- I changed it a bit. Everything the same but I used Butternut squash soup that I had purchased at Trader Joes. I also threw in some leftover chicken broth in place of some of the water(from last nights chicken dinner). I felt the prep work was minimal. I used my blender to puree. Just plan to cook the butternut squash the day before or earlier in the day. If you do that, then you will have the soup done from start to finish in less than 30 minutes. Thanks for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
It was a little thick, but absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
i followed the directions exactly, except i used extra squash so i wouldnt waste it,and added just a dash of whole milk to the blender before puree-ing the veggies from the soup pot, and it came out absolutely perfect. Thanks, Richard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
hearty and delicious. my dad loved it. the butternut is so creamy and the ginger really knocked the cold i had out of my system. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I am addicted to this soup! It is wonderful. I use 1/3 cup half & half instead of the heavy cream, per a suggestion in the reviews, and also use organic chicken stock instead of the water. Easy to make & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Thanks for sharing this wonderfully delicious, nutritious and satisfying soup. I loved it so much, I made it twice in one week. Add a nice salad & crusty bread and you're on the road to healthy eating!!! Beats all those soups out there that call for canned broth!! If you have other recipes on this order, please share them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
My husband and I both liked this soup very much. In my version, I only used one clove of garlic. I also used three heaping tb spoons of cream cheese and 1/3 cup of half & half instead of heavy cream. We added some majoram, cayenne, cumin and a touch of tumeric. My husband added a bit more cinnamon and ground clove. Both of our versions turned out great. If you like your soup thick, 4 cups of liquid might be a little too much. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This soup is so awesome. I make it whenever my boyfriend or i are sick and the ginger clears our sinouses! I've made it with different kinds of squahes and it's always really good. It's so simple and delicious, everyone I make it for, loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WYSIWYG
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Made this today, and it was fabulous. The cream is a MUST, really brings out the flavor of the cinnamon and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States