Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Yummy! I also added about a teaspoon of nutmeg, and a pinch of brown sugar. Like a bowl of warm sunshine on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Spectacular! Excellent recipe, exactly the starting point I was looking for. Two minor deviations: I was really generous with the ginger and added about a cup of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Loved the cinnamon but use sparingly. Used 2 small sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash...very good...heavy cream makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Yummy and perfect for those miserable winter days to warm you up and give you a little kick! I left out the creamand also the cinnamon, but added a few basil leaves and more ginger than listed as i love it and it tastes just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Fantastic flavor and luxurious, velvety texture. I did add a vegetable bouillon cube when I added the water. I didn't use the optional cream either so this was suitable for vegans. Everyone loved this soup and I'll make it again. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I can't get enough of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WordsWorth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I love this soup! It's so easy, great eaten hot anytime, but also wonderful served as a cool summer soup. The only modifications I made were exchanging some of the water for chicken broth to boost the protein, and, from time to time, using frozen butternut squash for speed. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is absolutely delicious and one of the few recipes on this site which needs no modifications in my opinion. I agree with previous reviewers that no chicken or veggie stock is needed as the result is quite flavorful on its own. I also agree that a dose of Garam Marsala could be an interesting addition, although I did not try this myself (yet). People who think that the ginger is too overpowering should definitely stir in some cream or half&half before serving, it will take a bite out of the bite ;). I loved it just the way it was and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Good creamy soup even without adding any cream to it. I felt like it needed some curry powder. I loved it with curry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Had no squash so I added one potato. Cut my ginger into 4 pieces and removed 3 of the pieces before I blended everything. This soup was just wonderful. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States