Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is absolutely delicious and one of the few recipes on this site which needs no modifications in my opinion. I agree with previous reviewers that no chicken or veggie stock is needed as the result is quite flavorful on its own. I also agree that a dose of Garam Marsala could be an interesting addition, although I did not try this myself (yet). People who think that the ginger is too overpowering should definitely stir in some cream or half&half before serving, it will take a bite out of the bite ;). I loved it just the way it was and will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Good creamy soup even without adding any cream to it. I felt like it needed some curry powder. I loved it with curry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Had no squash so I added one potato. Cut my ginger into 4 pieces and removed 3 of the pieces before I blended everything. This soup was just wonderful. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe. 2 small changes that i made: As another reviewer mentioned, I took a few chunks of the ginger out of the soup before I blended it together and it still had plenty of ginger flavor. The second time I made this soup, I added 3 T. of butter to the soup before I blended it together and it took the soup from good to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a great soup! I am looking forward to making it again on a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I love carrot ginger soup and chose this recipe because of the great reviews it has listed. I wouldn't have thought to add cinnamon so that was a great touch. I used half water and half coconut milk as my liquid base which eliminates the need for the cream and gives a wonderfully rich flavour. For a little variation, add some chopped fresh cilantro from your herb garden and squeeze in some fresh lime - makes it a different kind of yummy. For winter I like to add a tblspn or two of smooth peanut butter to the original recipe - something I've always done with squash & pumpkin soups. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ruelas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I used this recently because I needed some ideas of what to do with the pulp from my juicer after making a combination of kale, beet greens, and carrot juice with ginger. It was a perfect guideline. I first olive-oiled the pulp in a cast iron skillet to get the water out (high heat, turning for 10 minutes), then used veggie broth to supplement for taste. It was terrific, and I didn't have to compost the pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I didn't have any squash because I also wanted some extra carbs for my young kids--so I boiled a yam, added cilatro to my boiling carrots (for extra flavour)and added some coconut milk when blending all together...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Was good and unique, however I found it a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States