Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I loved this recipe! I did a few substitutions. Mine came out more Squashy and not as Carroty. Instead of using the 1/2 medium butternut squash, I used 30 oz of canned pureed butternut squash. Maybe cutting back would have let my version retain more of the carrot flavor. Instead of a pound of carrots, I used 7 (2.5 oz) packets of baby carrots. I may have needed to add more, as my dad was not able to taste the carrots in my version. I used at least 2 tsp pepper and at least 1 tsp salt, then added more if needed. I used 1 tbsp ground cinnamon, then added more if needed. The secret of the flavor of this recipe is the cinnamon. I didn't need to add any chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I loved finding a carrot butternut ginger soup! Delicious! I pretty much followed the recipe but couldn't resist adding an apple. I also threw all ingredients in my crockpot for 4 hours--after microwaving the squash for a bit so I could scoop it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup is amazing! The ginger and black pepper (to taste) do give it a nice spice. Scale back if this is not your cup of tea. I left out the cinnamon and swapped heavy cream for light sour cream. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I loved this recipe. If you want a dairy free options, try is with coconut milk. We are dairy free and wanted it creamy. I substituted one can of coconut milk for 2 cups of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I substituted 2 cups of the water with veg broth and LOVED the soup! Only wish I had doubled the recipe for more leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My husband thought this was very good! It does make quite a large potfull though! I will have to see how it freezes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I hate to be a negative Nancy, but I didn't care for this soup. The ginger completely overpowered the other flavors. I made this recipe exactly as written. I do love that it is healthy, and it is a beautiful color, I just can't get past the strong taste of ginger. I'm saving it in the fridge just incase my boyfriend likes it. I enjoyed making it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Way too much ginger that it was spicy and almost undrinkable, and I used less than the required amount. Decrease the ginger, add some whipped cream, and you'll be good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Should be served in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Ive made this soup twice now. I like it better with a whole squash and about 3/4 lb carrots. i substitued chick stock for water and kept the amount of ginger because i love ginger. the cream/milk is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States