Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delish! The only changes I made were to remove the ginger pieces before blending (as recommended by other users), and I used veg stock in place of water. I also prefer to use plain Greek yogurt in place of heavy cream for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe! I used butternut squash pre pealed and cubed from my fruit market, a heaping Tbs of powdered chicken soup base and a small portion of ground ginger paste. Cut down on the prep time and tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I was really excited to try this soup, but I found it to be just ok. Very gingery and not much carrot flavour. I used fresh ingredients from the Farmer's Market, but it just wasn't all that great. I will eat the leftovers tomorrow though, and I like how healthy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Easy to make and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Rave reviews every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This soup is cheap to make, and it tastes amazing. Best of all, it's a very forgiving recipe. You can screw around a bit with the spices and still have an amazing final product. I'm allergic to milk, so I just stuck an immersion blender into my soup pot and pureed everything, then spiced it and let it simmer a bit longer to let the spices sink in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This soup was a very tasty departure from the kinds of flavors I normally gravitate toward. I used pre-cut, cubed butternut squash, available in the refrigerated part of the produce section. I tossed that with olive oil, salt and pepper, and several cloves of minced garlic, then roasted it in the oven for 35 minutes. While the butternut squash baked, I sauteed the onion and a couple cloves of garlic in olive oil, then added the chopped carrots to saute for another 4-5 minutes. I then combined ALL of the ingredients in a slow cooker, and cooked on a low heat for 5-6 hours, then pureed in my blender. (I should also mention that I used vegetable broth instead of plain water.) The depth of flavor was so fantastic that I didn't add the cream for fear of ruining what was already pretty perfect on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I've been looking for a good carrot soup recipe and this is it. The squash and the ginger give so much flavor to this soup. Consistency is good but could be adjusted. I didn't have heavy cream so added a bit of milk and served it with sour cream and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent flavor and thickness. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil, roasted pumpkin instead of butternut squash, and stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crainny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States