Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I used this recently because I needed some ideas of what to do with the pulp from my juicer after making a combination of kale, beet greens, and carrot juice with ginger. It was a perfect guideline. I first olive-oiled the pulp in a cast iron skillet to get the water out (high heat, turning for 10 minutes), then used veggie broth to supplement for taste. It was terrific, and I didn't have to compost the pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I didn't have any squash because I also wanted some extra carbs for my young kids--so I boiled a yam, added cilatro to my boiling carrots (for extra flavour)and added some coconut milk when blending all together...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Was good and unique, however I found it a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WONDERHEATHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I doubled the recipe and thought it tasted quite carrot-y. I liked the ginger, though took a little bit out before pureeing like some others suggested. I added more than a dash of cinnamon. Perhaps a bit of cayenne pepper to give more taste on my next batch?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Tops! I used half chicken broth & half water for richness. For a shortcut, I bought a bag of frozen organic butternut squash and omitted the first step. I also like more ginger, because we wanted something for after the Thanksgiving feast that would help our digestive tract! Served with half and half at the bottom of the bowl and topped with parmesan. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This has become a traditional dish I now serve each Thanksgiving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Wolpo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I had to tweak this recipe a lot, as is it isn't very good, very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
wonderful recipe. and in my personal opinion is improved by adding a touch of coriander leaf prior to serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tony howe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
We really enjoyed the simple harvest garden flavor and color of this healthy soup. I didn't have much time so I revised the recipe to simmer the veggies all together in the water for about 8 minutes then just blend to make it smooth and creamy. I also added a potato while simmering because I wanted to be sure my athlete teens got enough calories. A recipe I have for butternut soup recommends a swirl of pesto on top of each bowl. I love that for the flavor and the beautiful presentation. I will definitely try that for this soup. One reviewer commented that this is for ginger lovers only, but my 13 yo daughter HATES ginger (even a little in pie or cookies) and said she actually didn't mind it in this soup. It wasn't overpowering at all. Maybe it has to do with how thick the ginger root is? Ours was about 1 1/4" thick. Anyway, thanks for the recipe. We'll definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States