Carrot and Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This has become a traditional dish I now serve each Thanksgiving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Wolpo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I had to tweak this recipe a lot, as is it isn't very good, very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
wonderful recipe. and in my personal opinion is improved by adding a touch of coriander leaf prior to serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tony howe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
We really enjoyed the simple harvest garden flavor and color of this healthy soup. I didn't have much time so I revised the recipe to simmer the veggies all together in the water for about 8 minutes then just blend to make it smooth and creamy. I also added a potato while simmering because I wanted to be sure my athlete teens got enough calories. A recipe I have for butternut soup recommends a swirl of pesto on top of each bowl. I love that for the flavor and the beautiful presentation. I will definitely try that for this soup. One reviewer commented that this is for ginger lovers only, but my 13 yo daughter HATES ginger (even a little in pie or cookies) and said she actually didn't mind it in this soup. It wasn't overpowering at all. Maybe it has to do with how thick the ginger root is? Ours was about 1 1/4" thick. Anyway, thanks for the recipe. We'll definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
When making this recipe I noticed the 4 cups of water on the list and thought "darnit, I don't have any chicken broth!" I had also read that other viewers had the same inclination to use chicken broth rather than water. So I went ahead and used the water because I didn't want to make a special trip to the store just for that ingredient. I am SO glad I didn't because it didn't need it! The soup was wonderful and flavorful. Some reviews said it was bland but I beg to differ! Also some said the ginger flavor was too over powering. I, again, disagree! I followed the recipe exactly and I am so glad I did! No changes necessary on this one! Thanks for the recipe. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This soup was de-li-cious. I didn't have any butternut squash, so I replaced it with about 3/4 cup unsweetened pumpkin puree. I added some chicken broth powder to the soup a few minutes before putting it in a blender - it made an amazing difference! Because of the chicken broth, I didn't need to add any salt; I didn't add the cinnamon either, because it was simply so perfect and I didn't dare change anything in case it would ruin it. It was simply delicious, and not too creamy (I think that was because of the pumpkin puree). A fabulous way to make sure those carrots (and pumpkin puree!) don't go to waste. Thanks! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very good soup. I added few teaspoons of butter at the end to smooth out the taste a little (didn't add the cream). My 8 month old baby and my husband both LOVE this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was a great use of too many carrots, it was even good at room temperature on a warm day. My husband and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe! The creamy texture made you think it had cream in it, but it didn't! It was all just veggies! Very healthy and tasty. I served it with a plop of sour cream and diced green onions to garnish. Made this for my mom's birthday and she raved about it! Adding extra ginger makes this soup stand out of the crowd too. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Erin
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
GREAT! everyone in my house loved it... even my 20-month old nephew. I used candied ginger, b/c it was what I had on hand. and it wasn't as strong as fresh probably would have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States